New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week features new studio releases from Iced Earth, Chon, and Nickelback . If you would like to check out last week’s releases you can do so hereYou can also check out last week’s sales numbers in Metal by Numbers. Miss May I and Adrenaline Mob didn’t debut too high, but Metallica’s Hardwired is still the highest charting metal album, just in case you’re wondering. You should consider following us on Spotify, we curate new playlists weekly for your (and our) listening pleasure! 

Studio Releases

Iced EarthIncorruptible (Century Media)

Incorruptible is the twelfth studio album from the Florida based heavy metal group Iced Earth. Like all of the band’s releases, this one was produced by guitarist and band leader Jon Schaffer. It is however the first album to feature guitarist Jake Dreyer (White Wizard, Kobra and the Lotus), who was brought on after the departure of Troy Seele last year, who had been with the group since 2007. The band has released lyric videos for four songs so far, “Seven Headed Whore,” “Raven Wing,” “Great Heathen Army,” and the most recent “Clear The Way (December 13th, 1862).” They are currently scheduled to play a dozen various European festivals over the next few months, but they have done a major US tour for their last few releases and will more than likely be doing one for this as well. Incorruptible is also available as a gatefold double vinyl.

CHONHomey (Sumerian Records)

 Homey is the second LP from California prog rock bands CHON. The album marks the return of founding bassist Esiah Camarena, following the departure of Drew Pelisek last year. They have released two music videos so far, the one for “Sleepy Tea” is an awesome 8-bit themed video, and “Waterslide” not only features the band’s technical licks but also an adorable skateboarding doggo. We know that’s what you’re really here for. CHON is currently out touring the U.S. alongside Tera Melos, Covet and Little Tybee. Homey is also available on vinyl, which includes a digital download of the album.

CKYThe Phoenix (eOne Music)

The Pheonix is the fifth studio album from the American rock band CKY. The album was produced by Chad I Ginsburg, the band’s lead guitarist turned lead singer and guitarist. It was recorded at Rancho De La Luna, in Joshua Tree, California and is their first studio album since their 2009 release, Carver City. It is also their first release on the Entertainment One record label. They have released a music video for “Days of Self Destruction,” which also features a guest appearance from Brent Hinds of Mastodon. You can catch CKY on tour throughout North America today, and for the next two months, on the Vans Warped TourThe Phoenix will also be available on vinyl later this month.

Nickelback, Feed the Machine (BMG)

Feed the Machine is the ninth studio album from the Canadian rock group Nickelback. It was produced by Chris Baseford. The band has release two music videos, one for the track “Song on Fire,” and another for the surprisingly heavy (and enjoyable) “Feed the Machine.” It is Nickelback’s first release since signing to BMG, and they will be touring North America in support of the album starting next week alongside Cheap Trick, Daughtry, and Shaman’s Harvest.

Various ArtistsVans Warped Tour 2017 (SideOneDummy)

The annual Vans Warped Tour kicks off today in Seattle, and that means their annuals sampler CD is also now available. The two disc compilation features 50 songs from a bunch of the bands playing this summer’s festival, including Alestorm, Beartooth, Anti-Flag, Hatebreed, Municipal Waste, and more! 


ArcadeaArcadea (Relapse)
Also available on vinyl.

Blessed CurseBeware Of The Night (M-Theory Audio)

Carach AngrenDance And Laugh Amongst The Rotten (Season Of Mist)
Also available on vinyl and cassette.

Chains Over RazorsCrown The Villain (Caroline)

Color FilmLiving Arrangements (Epitaph)
Also available on vinyl, which comes with a digital download of the album.

CurrentsThe Place I Feel Safest (SharpTone Records)

Dead HeavensWhatever Witch You Are (Dine Alone Music)
Also available on vinyl.

Doll SkinManic Pixie Dream Girl (EMP Label Group/AMPED)

EntrailsWorld Inferno (Metal Blade Records)

HelsottThe Healer (M-Theory Audio)

HundredthRare (Hopeless Records)

IgorrrSavage Sinusoid (Metal Blade Records)

Mourners LamentWe All Be Given (Hammerheart Records)

Ray SuhyFulmination (Cessation Engine Records)

SkycladForward Into The Past (Listenable Records)

TombsThe Grand Annihilation (Metal Blade Records)
Will also be available on vinyl later this month.

White SunsPsychic Drift (The Flenser)


Vinyl Releases

Porcupine Tree, On The Sunday Of Life (Kscope)

Continuing with the Porcupine Tree vinyl reissues we’ve gotten lately, this week the band’s 1992 debut album is getting a re-release.

Various ArtistsThe California Takeover Live (Victory Records)

Zakk SabbathLive In Detroit (Southern Lord)