New & Noteworthy is Metal Insider’s weekly column highlighting some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. The next couple of weeks will see the returns of Kittie, earthtone9, The Story So Far and Dirty Three, debuts from O. and Mighty Mighty Bosstones’ Joe Gittleman, and the final album from Hey Violet, as well as new studio efforts from the likes of Sheppard, The Ghost Next Door, The Used, Wage War, Guided By Voices, 200 Stab Wounds, Anvil, Nothing More & Redd Kross, among many, many more. Don’t forget to check out our weekly playlist below. Enjoy!

June 28, 2024 Release Highlights:

Guided by Voices, Strut Of Kings (Guided by Voices Inc./Rockathon):
The veteran rock band releases their 20th studio album in 10 years (their 40th overall). Frontman Robert Pollard said the album is more “focused” than their previous ones, telling Stereogum, “The structures are more cohesive. It also has a nice balance of the genres in rock that I like. Some nice power pop songs but also some fairly crazy stuff. A good balance, emotionally, of heavy and light.”

200 Stab Wounds, Manual Manic Procedures (Metal Blade):
The death metal band returns with their sophomore studio effort, which their bio calls “a brutal slab of old school death metal with a contemporary edge” that is “not for the faint-hearted.”

Anvil, One and Only (AFM):
The veteran metal band releases their 20th studio album, which frontman Steve “Lips” Kudlow says sounds more like their early work than their more thrashy, sexually-fueled “modern” sound.

Dirty Three, Love Changes Everything (Drag City):
The Australian instrumental rockers release their first album in 12 years.

Hey Violet, Aftertaste (Hopeless):
The pop rock band releases their second and final album, which frontwoman Rena Lovelis says “captures the nature of the world around us and how we’ve interacted with it and been affected by it. It’s all about our reclaiming of self-sovereignty and becoming our own heroes.”

Nothing More, Carnal (Better Noise):
According to guitarist Mark Vollelunga, the band’s seventh studio effort is “a perfect encapsulation of what Nothing More has always been. From progressive introspection to steady-state rock ‘n roll, we felt like we’ve achieved the exact balance wanted for this next installment.” The album also features guest appearances from I Prevail’s Eric Vanlerberghe, Disturbed’s David Draiman and rapper Sinizter.

Redd Kross, Redd Kross (In the Red):
The band celebrates their 45th anniversary with their eighth studio album, a double LP partially inspired by the recent Beatles documentary ‘Get Back.’ 

June 28, 2024 Releases:

Virginity, Bad Jazz (Smartpunk)
The Warning, Keep Me Fed (Lava/Republic)
Robert Jon & The Wreck, Red Moon Rising (Journeyman)
Queen of Jeans, All Again (Memory Music)
Laughing, Because It’s True (Celluloid Lunch)
Loma, How Will I Live Without a Body? (Sub Pop)
Sour Widows, Revival of a Friend (Exploding in Sound)
Imagine Dragons, Loom (Kidinakorner/Interscope)
Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats, South Of Here (Stax)
Washed Out, Notes From a Quiet Life (Sub Pop)
Chaser, Small Victories (Thousand Islands)
Crossfaith, AЯK (UNFD)
Crystal Viper, The Silver Key (Listenable)
The Eternal, Skinwalker (Reigning Phoenix)
Illdisposed, In Chambers Of Sonic Disgust (Massacre)
Kaipa, Sommargryningsljus (InsideOut)
Limbonic Art, Opus Daemonical (Kyrck)
Love Letter, Everyone Wants Something Beautiful (Iodine)
MakeWar, A Paradoxical Theory Of Change (Fat Wreck Chords)
My Epic, Loriella (Tooth & Nail)
Naera, All Is Dust (Metal Blade)
Sunbomb, Light Up The Sky (Frontiers)
White Stones, Memoria Viva (Reigning Phoenix)
Wraith, Fueled By Fear (Prosthetic)
Drift into Black, Voices Beneath the Rubble (Black Lion)
Sebastien, Quo Vadis (Smile Music)
Sabïre, Jätt (Listenable)
Stillborn, Netherworlds (Black Lodge)
Ende, L’aube des anathèmes (Immortal Frost Productions)
Aberrance, Son of Dirt (Silent Pendulum)
Sear Bliss, Heavenly Down (Hammerheart)
Crocell, Of Frost, of Flame, of Flesh (Emanzipation Productions)
Altar of Oblivion, In the Cesspit of Divine Decay (From the Vaults)
Winter Eternal, Echoes of Primordial Gnosis (Hells Headbangers)
Shade of Sorrow, Upon the Fields of Grief (M-Theory Audio)
Hail Spirit Noir, Fossil Gardens (Agonia)
Noxis, Violence Inherent in the System (Rotted Life)
Bridear, Born Again (IYT)
Trog, Horrors Beyond (Independent)
Torvus, Words Within (Independent)
Pia Isa, Dissolve (Independent)
Gjendød, Livskramper (Osmose Productions)
Mýrdal, Helvíti (Vendetta)
Kirkebrann, Mot trellenes forfall… (Hellstain Productions)
Aran, Maahan laskettu (Naturmacht Productions)
Holy Shire, Invincible (Ghost Record Label)
Hourglass, Voids and Visions (Independent)
Meltem, Mare Nostrum (Discos Macarras)
Black on High, Echoes Through Time (Independent)
Aria Inferno, Insignificance (Independent)
Under Victoria, The Ephemeral (Independent)