New & Noteworthy is Metal Insider’s weekly column highlighting some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This New Music Friday will see the highly anticipated returns of Pearl Jam, The Ghost Inside and High On Fire, as well as big releases from Melvins, A Certain Ratio, NOFX, Cloud Nothings, My Dying Bride and many, many more. Don’t forget to check out our weekly playlist below. Enjoy!

Release Highlights:

Melvins, Tarantula Heart (Ipecac): The band took a new approach to songwriting on their 27th studio effort, opting to jam together first before frontman Buzz Osborne wrote songs around the sessions.

Pearl Jam, Dark Matter (Monkeywrench): The band gets heavier than they have in a while on their 12th album, saying the Andrew Watt-produced work evokes the kind of energy they put forth in their first couple of LPs.

A Certain Ratio, It All Comes Down to This (Mute): According to the veteran post-punk band’s website, their 13th studio effort is a shift from their previous one, instead aiming to “strip away the excess and return to the band’s base ingredients.”

The Ghost Inside, Searching for Solace (Epitaph): The band’s sixth studio effort features some of the heaviest songs they’ve ever written, with bassist Jim Riley saying “We really know who we are, and we also feel comfortable stepping into the future. This is a new chapter, but it’s not disconnected from what the band sounded like before. It’s more of an extension of it.”

High on Fire, Cometh the Storm (MNRK): Their first album with new drummer Coady Willis, the band trudges through adversity and the threat of nuclear war to create a heavy, riff-laden follow-up to their Grammy-winning 2018 album.

April 19, 2024 Releases:

Big|Brave, A Chaos of Flowers (Thrill Jockey)
Couch Slut, You Could Do It Tonight (Brutal Panda)
Dayseeker, Replica (Spinefarm)
Folterkrammer, Weibermacht (Century Media)
Haunted, Stare At Nothing (Ripple Music)
Infinite River, Tabula Rasa (Birdman Records)
Lie Heavy, Burn to the Moon
NOFX, Half Album (Fat Wreck Chords)
SeeYouSpaceCowboy, Coup De Grâce (Pure Noise)
Billy Morrison, The Morrison Project (TLG)
Blaze Of Perdition, Upharsin (Metal Blade)
Cloud Nothings, Final Summer (Pure Noise)
Don Jamieson, No Sleep ‘Til McSorley’s (Metal Blade)
DOOL, The Shape Of Fluidity (Prophecy)
Dvne, Voidkind (Metal Blade)
Lightworker, How The Beautiful Decay (Solid State)
My Dying Bride, A Mortal Binding (Nuclear Blast)
Nocturna, Of Sorcery And Darkness (Scarlet)
Praying Mantis, Defiance (Frontiers)
Quantum, Down The Mountainside (Black Lodge)
Selbst, Despondency Chord Progressions (Debemur Morti)
Tomorrow’s Rain, Ovdan (AOP)
Vanden Plas, The Empyrean Equation Of The Long Lost Things (Frontiers)
In Vain, Solemn (Indie Recordings)
Mære, ...and the Universe Keeps Silent (Transcending Obscurity Records)
Bloody Falls, Amartia (Art Gates Records)
Balance of Power, Fresh from the Abyss (Massacre Records)
Ravage, Spider on the World (Thrash with Power Records)
Haust, Negative Music (Fysisk Format)
Oak, Ash & Thorn, Our Grief Is Thus (Lost Future)
Opium Death, Genocidal Nemesis (Independent)
Uttertomb, Nebulas of Self-Desecration (Pulverised Records)
Loch Vostok, Opus Ferox II – Mark of the Beast (ViciSolum Productions)
All Will Know, Parhelion (Noizgate Records)
Verikalpa, Tuomio (Scarlet Records)
Krvsade, Wolves of the Black Star (Kvlt und Kaos Productions)
Red Mesa, Partial Distortions (Desert Records)
Antichrist Siege Machine, Vengeance of Eternal Fire (Profound Lore Records)
Nuclear Tomb, Terror Labyrinthian (Everlasting Spew Records)
Blazing Eternity, A Certain End of Everything (Mighty Music)
Perseus, Into the Silence (Escape Music)
Bongripper, Empty (The Great Barrier Records)
Hekseblad, Kaer Morhen (Hypnotic Dirge Records)
Guenna, Peak of Jin’Arrah (The Sign Records)
Engulfed, Unearthly Litanies of Despair (Me Saco un Ojo Records)
Atræ Bilis, Aumicide (20 Buck Spin)
Voidgazer, Dance of the Undesirables (Atomic Fire Records)
Leach, New Model of Disbelief (Independent)
Satanic North, Satanic North (Reaper Entertainment)
Korpituli, Pohjola (Korpituli Productions)
Seventh, Collapsar (Independent)
Tassack, Old Skull (Independent)
Uragh, Maelstrom (Independent)
Savage Wizdom, Who’s Laughing Now (Independent)
Afflicted Truth, The Seeking of Redemption (Christian Metal Underground Records)
Idiot Child, The First Breath Is the Beginning of Death (Bent Window Records)
Breath of Sindragosa, Shadowflame (Independent)
Nogothula, Telluric Sepsis (Independent)

Order links provided by Amazon and Bandcamp!