New & Noteworthy, August 4th 2017: The Rise of New Releases

Posted by on August 4, 2017

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week features new music from Mary Friedman and Accept. If you would like to check out last week’s New & Noteworthy, you can do so here, and the week’s sales numbers are also available in Metal by Numbers. It’s dangerous to go alone, take this Spotify playlist. 

Studio Releases

Accept, The Rise Of Chaos (Nuclear Blast)

The Rise of Chaos is the 15th studio album from the German heavy metal pioneers Accept. Not looking to mess with a good thing following the success of their last few albums, the band once again teamed up with producer Andy Sneap. They have worked with Andy for their past 3 albums, making this #4 with him. This will be the first album to feature guitarist Uwe Lulis and drummer Christopher Williams, who replaced Herman Frank and Stefan Schwarzmann after the release of their previous album Blind Rage. Back in June they release a music video for the title track, “The Rise of Chaos,” and a more recently a lyric video for “Koolaid.” Accept will be touring throughout the rest of the year, but will only be doing a hand full of shows in the U.S. towards the end of September. The album will also be available as a limited edition blue/orange vinyl later this month. 

Marty Friedman, Wall Of Sound (Prosthetic Records)      

Wall of Sound is the 13th studio album from guitarist Marty Friedman, best known for his work in Megadeth and Cacophony. Part of Wall of Sound was recorded at Studio 606 in California with engineer Paul Fig (Alice in Chains, Rush, Deftones).  He also recently released a music video for the track “Whiteworm.” Wall of Sound also features an interesting selection of musical guests, including Shiv Mehra (Deafheaven) on “Pussy Ghost,” Jinxx (Black Veil Brides) on “Sorrow And Madness,” and Jørgen Munkeby (Shining) on “Something To Fight.” Jinxx wasn’t brought on to do guitar work though, but rather violin. Friedman is currently touring the U.S. and will be until the end of this month.

Dead Cross, Dead Cross (Ipecac Recordings)       

Dead Cross is the debut album from the hardcore super group Dead Cross, featuring Dave Lombardo (Suicidal Tendencies, ex-Slayer), Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle), Mike Crain (Retox), and bassist Justin Pearson (the Locust, Retox). They have released one music video so far, “Obedience School.” You’ll be able to catch them touring through the U.S. this August into September. Dead Cross is also available on gold or red swirl vinyls on their Bandcamp page. 

Pentakill, Grasp of the Undying (N/A)

Grasp of the Undying is the first full length album from the League of Legends themed metal band Pentakill. They released their debut EP Smite and Ignite back in 2014, which turned out way better than I ever would have expected and now they return with their follow-up. Earlier this week the band debuted their very first music, the CGI “live musical carnage” that is Pentakill performing “Mortal Reminder” live over the quiet Bandle City. Jørn Lande continues to play the voice of Karthus, the Deathsinger, but this album also features Noora Loumino of Battle Beast on the track “Tear of the Goddess,” providing vocals for the warrior angel Kayle. This one is free, so you have no excuse to not give it a listen. You can find them touring all throughout the realms, even making a stop in the Shadow Isles.      

Doom Side Of The Moon, Doom Side Of The Moon (N/A)            

Doom Side of the Moon is exactly what it sounds like: a doom metal rendition of Pink Floyd’s album Dark Side of the Moon. The project was the brainchild of Kyle Shutt of The Sword, and also features his band mates Bryan Richie and Santiago Vela III, as well as vocalist Alex Marrero (Brownout/Brown Sabbath), saxophonist Jason Frey (Black Joe Lewis/Hard Proof), and keyboardist Joe Cornetti (Croy & The Boys). The album was engineered and mixed by Stuart Sikes (The White Stripes, Rocket From The Crypt). Physicals are available exclusively through the band’s webstore.

Avatarium, Hurricanes And Halos (Nuclear Blast)        
, Sexual Panic Human Machine (Hell’s Headbangers)              
Dale Crover, The Fickle Finger Of Fate (Joyful Noise)      
Deathbed, Dead Youth [EP] (Self-release)
Eagles Of Death Metal, I Love You All the Time – Live At The Olympia in Paris (Eagle Rock Entertainment)             
Lakeshore, 41 (Outerloop)          
Pristine, Ninja (Nuclear Blast)   
Psy:code, Morke (Pavement Music)      
Quiet Riot, Road Rage (Frontiers Music)            |
The Claypool Lennon Delirium, Lime And Limpid Green EP (ATO Records)    
Thor, Beyond the Pain Barrier (Deadline Music)
Wage War, Deadweight (Fearless)           
Warbeast, Enter The Arena (Housecore Records)            

Vinyl Releases

Battle Beast, Bringer Of Pain  (Nuclear Blast)      
Death Courier, Demise (Nuclear War Now)         
Death Courier, Demo + EP (Nuclear War Now)  
Deathhammer, Phantom Knights (Hell’s Headbangers) 
Howls Of Ebb, Vigils Of The 3rd Eye (Nuclear War Now)
Municipal Waste, The Fatal Feast (Nuclear Blast)             
Alright, this technically isn’t a vinyl, but they’re releasing it as a limited edition yellow cassette.
Sacrificio, Guerra Eterna (Nuclear War Now)     
While She Sleeps, You Are We (SharpTone)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy