Tobias Sammet’s Avantasia return with new single “The Wicked Rule The Night;” new album arriving in October

Posted by on June 29, 2022

Photo credit: Kevin Nixon


Tobias Sammet’s Avantasia will return with a brand new album, A Paranormal Evening with the Moonflower Society, scheduled to arrive on October 21st via Nuclear Blast. The follow-up to 2019’s Moonglow marks the overall ninth full-length effort and features another strong cast of guest musicians. Today (29th), Avantasia has unveiled the first taste by unveiling a lyric video for the brand new single, “The Wicked Rule The Night,” featuring Primal Fear’s Ralf Scheepers.


Sammet comments:   

“From the first song ideas back in 2018 / 2019 to the production, orchestration, keyboards, arrangements, details, I have been personally involved so deeply in every little aspect and detail of this album, that you can’t get an album anymore personal or closer to my vision than this one. I had the time, nothing else to do in the past two and a half years, it was a slow movement life with music and my Mysteryhausen studio serving as a portal to another world, full of music and quirky encounters with my muses keeping me sane and hopeful. I am super proud of the album, some of my best songs, some of my most emotional and extreme vocal performances, and some of the strongest guest performances ever. I couldn’t be happier with the outcome and when you’ll hear it, you will know why!”


Watch the clip below:



Track List:

01) Welcome to the Shadows

02) The Wicked Rule the Night

03) Kill the Pain Away

04) The Inmost Light

05) Misplaced among the Angels

06) I Tame the Storm

07) Paper Plane

08) The Moonflower Society

09) Rhyme and Reason

10) Scars

11) Arabesque




Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video