The Ghost Inside to release next album in November

Posted by on September 16, 2014


Los Angeles’ The Ghost Inside will be releasing their fourth album, Dear Youth, on November 17 on Epitaph. The band, who played the Warped Tour all Summer, will be touring starting in November with label-mates Every Time I Die. Dear Youth is a concept album, which is explained in the below note from frontman Jonathan Vigil to his younger self:

Dear Youth,

I’m writing to you now because it seems I’ve lost my way. I can’t pinpoint exactly when it started, but I know that it’s not like it was before. I’ve realized the more time that passes, the more we lose touch. It’s starting to feel like all I ever do now is lose touch with things. But not you, I never wanted to lose you.

I wish I had something to blame it all on, but I don’t. One day I was there and the next I was here. As if I was dreaming and suddenly woken up. These days I’m always wondering if what I’ve done is enough. It’s getting harder and harder for me to shake this feeling of stagnance.

So old friend I’m writing to ask you what it feels like to have the whole world in your hand? Where we could set out and do anything that we imagined. Endless possibilities way before complacence set in. To be honest with you, I’ve forgotten what that all feels like. There was a wonder about us that has long since faded. That sense of excitement, I miss it.

Dear youth, will you show me again? I need to be reminded of those times, back before this began…

The band’s lyric video for “Dear Youth (Day 52)” has been released, featuring fan-submitted footage. It’s the second song from the album to be featured, following “Avalanche,” which was released earlier this month. Here’s the track listing for the album, which was co-produced by Jeremy McKinnon and Andrew Wade:

01. Avalanche
02. Move Me
03. Out Of Control
04. With the Wolves
05. Mercy
06. Phoenix Flame
07. Dear Youth (Day 52)
08. Wide Eyed
09. My Endnote
10. The Other Half
11. Blank Pages


Categorised in: New Music, News, Video