Northlane covers Silverchair’s “Anthem for the Year 2000” for upcoming tribute album

Posted by on October 12, 2017

It has been just over a decade since Australian alternative rockers Silverchair’s latest effort, 2007’s Young Modern. A few years after their fifth and final album, the group split and former frontman Daniel Johns went on his own musical R&B adventure to create his debut solo album Talk, which was released in 2015. However, it was their ’90s-era music that provided a fair and unforgettable balance between grunge, alternative and even emotional despair.

It was mainly their work between 1995’s Frogstomp and 1999’s Neon Ballroom, featuring songs involving anorexia, depression and mental illness, that made it easier for their fans to relate and connect with. The group instantly remained unique and unforgettable. Unfortunately, with a decent record from 2002’s Diorama and their conclusive Young Modern, it was clear that it was only a matter of time until they called it quits. Despite the band’s disbandment, their music remains and it’s time to celebrate 20 years since their acclaimed sophomore album Freak Show (1997). UNFD will release Spawn (Again): A Tribute to Silverchair on November 17th. The album will feature  Australian acts including The Amity Affliction, Hands Like Houses, Tonight Alive, In Hearts Wake, Ocean Grove, and more to cover Silverchair’s hits.

The first song available is Northlane’s cover of “Anthem for the Year 2000” from 1999’s Neon Ballroom.

Guitarist Jon Deiley commented about the track:

“Anthem for the Year 2000.” For guitarist Jon Deiley, this song played a significant part in his formative years. “‘Anthem for the Year 2000’ was the first Silverchair song I ever heard. To me as a young kid, it was intense and heavy and it wasn’t til a few years later that I really began to appreciate the impact their music had on me at an early age. I think Australia’s love for Silverchair runs deep and their influence on Australian music is still felt today. There’s very few bands who can bring together artists to celebrate their work, and Silverchair is one of them.”

Check out the original:

Track List:

  1. The Amity Affliction – “Tomorrow”
  2. Void of Vision – “Israel’s Son”
  3. In Hearts Wake – “Freak”
  4. The Brave – “Cemetery”
  5. Northlane – “Anthem for the Year 2000”
  6. Hands Like Houses – “Ana’s Song (Open Fire)”
  7. Ocean Grove – “Spawn (Again)”
  8. Storm The Sky – “Emotion Sickness”
  9. Tonight Alive – “Without You”
  10. Columbus – “Straight Lines”

Tags: , ,

Categorised in: New Music, News, Video