Listen to the first new Refused song in 17 years

Posted by on April 27, 2015


It’s been 17 years since Swedish hardcore band Refused released their last album, the genre-defining The Shape of Punk to Come. And while they released a brief teaser yesterday with the phrase “there’s no escape,” today they released “Elektra,” a song containing that refrain in its chorus, via Pitchfork. Interestingly enough, the song was one of two produced and co-written by Shellback, a Swedish pop producer that’s worked with Taylor Swift, Britney Spears and more. You certainly wouldn’t know it from hearing the song, which explodes out of the gate and maintains in intensity throughout it’s 3:12 running time.

“It’s not a reunion anymore,” frontman Dennis Lyxzén says. “This is one of the most radical things we’ve ever done, both musically and lyrically.”

Here’s the track listing of Freedom, which will be out on June 30th on Epitaph:

01 Elektra 
02 Old Friends / New War
03 Dawkins Christ
04 Françafrique 
05 Thought Is Blood 
06 War on the Palaces 
07 Destroy the Man 
08 366 
09 Servants of Death 
10 Useless Europeans


Tags: ,

Categorised in: New Music, News, Video