Dutch singer-songwriter Charlotte Wessels (ex-Delain) has unveiled a video for her new song, “Chasing Sunsets.” The track is the second single taken from her upcoming solo album, The Obsession, scheduled to arrive on September 20th via Napalm Records. The album features guest appearances by Simone Simons (Epica) and Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy) while stylistically blending elements of progressive and heavier soundscapes.

Wessels comments on the new track:

“When I released the initial version of ´Chasing Sunsets´ on Patreon, it was an instant favorite, and it grew so much since then as we worked on it for the album, I can’t wait to share this track with the world! There’s an underlying theme of self-preservation and greed in the song that we visualized in the music video. I’ve never felt so much like we’re living in the hunger games where parts of the world continue lavish lifestyles while others suffer complete devastation. We worked with this theme in the music video through an artificial beautiful landscape and styling, all staged in a barren space with burning trees.”

On the album, Wessels expresses:

“On the one hand, this album tells a very personal story – through its unintended theme of fear, obsessive thoughts and the escapes from them – and at the same time it represents the joy of finding the song’s true forms with everyone involved in the making of this record. That’s why I chose The Obsession as a title. It refers to my personal challenges with OCD that inspired many of the songs – but I’ve also started referring to the band as The Obsession – because there were moments in the studio with them that truly reminded me of why I’m obsessed with making music in the first place. I’m extremely grateful and proud to add Simone Simons and Alissa White-Gluz to the line-up of this album. They are creative powerhouses that I have so much love and respect for. Whenever we get to work together is an absolute treat and they really elevated the songs with their performances.”

Watch the clip as well as for the first single “The Exorcism” below and pre-order the album here:

Track List:

01) Chasing Sunsets
02) Dopamine
03) The Exorcism
04) Soulstice
05) The Crying Room
06) Ode To The West Wind
07) Serpentine
08) Praise
09) All You Are
10) Vigor And Valor
11) Breathe
12) Soft Revolution (2024)

Feature Image Photo Credit: Tim Tronckoe + Claire Stuart/Blond en Blauw Films