Artillery reveal new album ‘X;’ share new single “In Thrash We Trust”

Posted by on March 19, 2021


Artillery will drop their tenth studio album, appropriately titled, X on May 7th via Metal Blade records. The band also shared the first single taken from the album, “In Thrash We Trust.”

Guitarist Michael Stützer commented on the record:

“We wanted to have the typical Artillery trademarks, like the riffs and hook lines in the usual combination together with aggression and melody. We always try to combine melodic thrash metal with elements from the heavy sounds of the 70s and the 80s, and this time with new elements in some of the songs. We don’t have to push ourselves hard when we’re writing a record because we love what we’re doing.”

Sadly, guitarist – and Stützer’s brother – Morten Stützer passed in 2019, which was an enormous loss for the band. Michael almost stopped playing music but decided to continue in his brother’s name.

“It was tough, even if he did not play live with us since 2016, he was always supporting us. Morten was a unique musician and writer and a very humorous guy, and following his death was the first time ever I thought about stopping playing music. But, he always said that I had to go on with Artillery and continue playing if he was not there anymore. He will be missed so much.”

The album was crafted at Medley Studio in Copenhagen, Denmark with longtime producer Søren Andersen, who the band have worked with on every record since 2009’s When Death Comes.

The band has loaded up on limited edition pre-orders, which can be viewed below:

– ltd. digipak-CD (incl. 2 bonus tracks)
– 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
– blood red / blue marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 300 copies)
– viole(n)t blue marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
– blue / red / white melt splatter vinyl (limited to 200 copies)

Track List:
01) The Devils Symphony
02) In Thrash We Trust
03) Turn up the Rage
04) Silver Cross
05) In Your Mind
06) The Ghost of Me
07) Force of Indifference
08) Varg I Veum
09) Mors Ontologica
10) Eternal Night
11) Beggars in Black Suits

Pre-order X here and check out “In Thrash We Trust” below!




Categorised in: New Music, Video