Overcast grinning with Only Death Is Smiling

Posted by on October 10, 2014

Bullet Tooth is putting out a collection of Overcast releases, titled Only Death Is Smiling, a three-CD set containing 45 tracks from 1991 to 1998, coming out in the fall of 2014.

Said Adam Dutkiewicz of Killswitch Engage:

“In my eyes, Overcast was one of the most influential bands from their era. They came at a time where it wasn’t so commonplace to mix heavy musical styles as much as they did. (And their singer Brian looked like a spooky creature from the deep with his hair.) Their ability to make unique, heavy, aggressive, and melodic songs was such a cool thing to see back then, and ultimately was what brought me to want to do a collaboration with Mike.”

Overcast were early 90s metalcore pioneers from the New England area, with members going on to play in Shadows Fall, Killswitch Engage, and Death Ray Vision (featuring Shadows Fall singer Brian Fair and Killswitch Engage bassist Mike D’Antonio).

The band played a reunion show earlier this year at This is Hardcore Fest in Philadelphia, PA.

Overcast Only Death Is Smiling track listing:

(Disc 1):
01. Grifter
02. Twodegreesbelow
03. Absolute Threshold
04. As A Whole
05. Allegiance To The Flesh
06. Iconoclasm
07. Bleed Into One
08. Diluting Inertia
09. Faceless (7″ Version)
10. Staredown (7″ Version)
11. Follow (7″ Version)
12. Bleed Into One (7″ Version)
13. Pure Agony
14. Grifter (7″ Version)
15. Forecast (7″ Version)

(Disc 2):
01. Apocalypse Upon Us
02. Spun
03. Filter Of Syntax
04. Styrofoam Death-Machine
05. Your (destructive) Self
06. More Metal Than Your Ma’s Kettle
07. Seven ft. Grin
08. Dousing This Flame
09. Forecast
10. Seven ft. Grin (Split 7″ Version)
11. For Indifference (7″ Version)
12. Fate’s Design (7″ Version)
13. Your (destructive) Self (Demo)
14. Forecast (Demo)
15. Dousing This Flame (Demo)
16. Spun (Demo)

(Disc 3):
01. Spun (Live)
02. Filter Of Syntax (Live)
03. Allegiance To The Flesh (Live)
04. Apocalypse Upon Us (Live)
05. Grifter (Live)
06. As A Whole (Live)
07. More Metal Then Your Ma’s Kettle (Live)
08. Seven ft. Grin (Live)
09. As A Whole (SMMDI Demo)
10. Iconoclasm (SMMDI Demo)
11. Absolute Threshold (SMMDI Demo)
12. A Means… (Demo)
13. Scar The Mind (Demo)
14. A National Acrobat

Tags: , , ,

Categorised in: News, Releases