ronnie james dio

We’ve seen a few different tributes to Ronnie James Dio ever since he died of stomach cancer on May 16, 2010, but this is a doozy. A new all-star tribute album titled This Is Your Life is coming via Rhino set to release on April 1, 2014 (and if you think it’s April Fools, the mob rules). The songs chosen are spread across Dio’s whole career from Rainbow to Sabbath to his solo work. Benefits for the album go to the Stand Up and Shout Cancer fund.

Some of the songs on the album were previously released such as Killswitch Engage’s cover of “Holy Diver” and Adrenaline Mob’s “The Mob Rules,” but for the most part, the music on the album is all new. Here’s the track list:

1. “Neon Knights” – Anthrax
2. “The Last In Line” – Tenacious D
3. “The Mob Rules” – Adrenaline Mob
4. “Rainbow In The Dark” – Corey Taylor, Roy Mayorga, Satchel, Christian Martucci, Jason Christopher
5. “Straight Through The Heart” – Halestorm
6. “Starstruck” – Motörhead with Biff of Saxon
7. “Temple Of The King” – Scorpions
8. “Egypt (The Chains Are On)” – Doro
9. “Holy Diver” – Killswitch Engage
10. “Catch the Rainbow” – Glenn Hughes, Simon Wright, Craig Goldy, Rudy Sarzo, Scott Warren
11. “I” – Jimmy Bain, Oni Logan, Rowan Robertson, Brian Tichy
12. “Man On The Silver Mountain” – Rob Halford, Vinny Appice, Doug Aldrich, Jeff Pilson, Scott Warren
13. “Ronnie Rising Medley (featuring “A Light in the Black”, “Tarot Woman”, “Stargazer”, “Kill the King”)”– Metallica
14. “This Is Your Life” – Dio 

That’s a solid list of musicians right there, and a lot of the songs seem to fit with the band or artists covering them. Also, that “Ronnie Rising Medley” echoes the “Mercyful Fate” medley from Metallica’s Garage Inc., which is pretty cool. Oh, by the way, that artwork is fucking awesome.

dio tribute