Insomnium reveal new album artwork, track listing, new guitarist

Posted by on July 16, 2019

Last month, Insomnium announced their new album will arrive on October 4th via Century Media Records. Today (16th), these Finnish melodic death metal giants have revealed artwork and track listing for their upcoming record, Heart Like a Grave. Unlike 2016’s Winter’s Gate, their overall eighth studio effort will consist of ten songs and over an hour of material. The band has teamed up with Jens Borgen for the mixing and mastering as they assured Heart Like A Grave will be their “best sounding Insomnium album ever.”

The band commented:

”The concept of the album is to delve deep into the heart of the Finnish melancholy. We’ve been inspired by some of the bleakest and saddest songs, poems and tales that truly capture the essence of northern gloom. Land where the frost ravages the harvest and creeps inside the souls, summer ends before it even starts, wife leaves, little brother dies in snow on a Christmas morning, and the golden days of youth are forever gone. So there are echoes of Harmaja, Rautavaara, Vainio, Peltoniemen Hintriikka and of course our own petty, miserable lives.” 

No stranger to the Insomnium camp, the group has officially added third guitarist Jani Liimatainen. 

The group explained:

”In 2018 it became apparent that Ville could not combine the heavy touring anymore with his another career as a lecturer in York university. Hence, we decided that a third guitarist was needed to get the machinery running properly. We did not have to look far, since Jani Liimatainen had already been a live guitarist on several tours. And since this dude is amazing musician, vocalist, songwriter and all-round nice guy the decision was really a no-brainer. Now we are stronger than ever!”

Ville added:

 “Since 2010 I’ve been combining touring and band life with my science career. However, couple of years ago it became clear that it has become impossible for me to put my 100% in both. This is partly because of more demanding role at the University of York but also because Insomnium has been growing steadily year by year leading to increasing amount of touring with every album. With Jani on board, we have secured a steady live line-up to keep delivering fierce live shows all around the world with me joining the band when time allows.”

Jani expressed his excitement: 

“It is a great honour to join such an amazing band. I had already been touring with the guys on and off since 2015, filling in for Ville whenever needed, so when they asked me to officially join the band the answer was pretty much a no-brainer. I am looking forward to sharing many more metal moments with these guys who I am proud to call my friends.”

Track List:

01) Wail of the North

02) Valediction

03) Neverlast

04) Pale Morning Star

05) And Bells They Toll

06) The Offering

07) Mute Is My Sorrow

08) Twilight Trails

09) Heart Like a Grave

10) Karelia




Categorised in: News, Releases