Albeit a terrible year high profile celebrity deaths, 2016 was quite an excellent one for music releases. 2017 looks to have a lot of potential, with the first week of the year bringing new Nightwish, Halestorm, and Chasing Safety as well as an Ice Nine Kills re-release, and a handful of vinyl releases. It’s not a huge start to the year, but there is much to come in the near future.

Nightwish, Vehicle of Spirit (Live at Wembley) (Nuclear Blast)

Just finishing up their enormous Endless Forms Most Beautiful tour. Finland’s Nightwish have returned with one last thing before they go on hiatus. Vehicle of Spirit is a live DVD filmed at London’s famous Wembly Arena and Finland’s Ratina Stadium. It is the second live release from the band since they enlisted Floor Jansen as lead singer.  The show is available as in DVD and Blu-Ray, as well as a four song EP featuring the first recorded performance of “Stargazer” since Tarja was in the band.


Halestorm, ReAniMate 3.0: The CoVeRs EP (Atlantic) 

This is the third EP released in their ReAniMate series, a collection of cover songs from some of the band’s biggest influences. 3.0 features songs from Metallica, Whitesnake, Soundgarden and more. It was produced by Nick Raskulinecz, who recently produced Ghost’s Infestissumam, and has had many other great bands come through his studio.



Ice Nine Kills, Safe is Just a Shadow (Re-Shadowed and Re-Recorded) (Outerloop)

American metalcore band Ice Nine Kills has re-recorded (and re-shadowed) their hit 2010 album Safe is Just a Shadow. It was also recorded and produced by the orignal producer Steve Sopchak, with vocalist Spencer Charnas saying

“With the evolution of our skills as musicians, and the original producer, Steve Sopchak, having established himself at the top of his craft, we felt this was a perfect time to re-record the album and give it that extra attention that it always deserved. We’ve also repackaged the album with the impressive Toby Fraser produced artwork that was originally supposed to accompany the release.”


Chasing SafetyNomad (Outerloop) 

New Jersey’s Chasing Safety returns this week with their sophomore full-length album, Nomad. Recorded at Bloodstone Recording in Greensboro NC with Kile Odell.




Vinyl releases:

Attila – Chaos (Sharptone)

Destroyer 666 – Defiance (Season of Mist)

Destroyer 666 – Wildfire (Season of Mist)

Misery Index – The Killing Gods (Season Of Mist)