Track Premiere: Alizarin unveil new song “Elegy Simulacra;” new album arriving in July

Posted by on April 24, 2020


Los Angeles cinematic/metal outfit Alizarin has announced their sophomore album, The Last Semblance, will be released this July. On their new album, the group continues to explore through their dramatic executions and melodic compositions. However, unlike their strictly instrumental debut, their upcoming record will feature vocals throughout as they continue to expand on their craft. Musically, for those who enjoy a diverse set of bands ranging from Porcupine Tree, Haken, Alice In Chains, Opeth to Portishead, and many more, will want to give this band a spin as they enjoy to challenge themselves and take their music to the next level. To accompany Alizarin’s new album reveal, the group has teamed up with Metal Insider to premiere the first single from their upcoming effort with the song “Elegy Simulacra.” 


The group commented on both their new single and album:

“This is the opening track to the whole album and it packs an otherworldly punch. It captures many of the sounds that Alizarin projects, the dark and brooding tones, the unorthodox chord progressions, walking the line between consonance and dissonance. Thematically, “Elegy Simulacra” considers the conflict between an artist’s desire for pure expression and the pressures of an increasingly murky internet culture. The song is one of the fastest pieces we’ve ever presented, wrought with many twisting dynamics. By the time the tune is complete the listener will feel they’ve been on one mind-bending journey, fully setting up the rest of the record.” 

“The album is a work of cinematic progressive metal, centered around brooding melodies and wrapped in epic compositions. There are influences from many styles of music, many beyond metal as well. The music is very melody driven, with technical aspects in moderation woven into the larger song structures. The chords, melodies, and arrangements are meant to be unpredictable, unconventional and compelling, while remaining extremely listenable and catchy.”


Listen to “Elegy Simulacra” below:



Track Listing:

01) Elegy Simulacra (7:55)

02) Fathom (6:53)

03) A Wreath of Temperance (6:40)

04) Velvet Margin (5:12)

05) Heirloom (5:35)

06) Zero Sum (7:03)

07) Attenuation (10:36)

08) The Ivory Silo (8:48)

Album Length: 58:46


Album Credits:

  • All songs performed by: Alizarin  
  • All songs written by: Josh Kay
  • Produced by: Josh Kay and Alizarin
  • Mixed by: Josh Kay
  • Mastered by: Jamie King
  • Album Artwork by: Josh Kay


Album and Live Band Line Up:

Josh Kay – Guitars and vocals

Jon Damon – Drums  

Terran Fernandez – Bass and backing vocals

Avelino Ramirez – Keyboards



Categorised in: New Music, News, Premieres, Releases