TheNightFlightOrchestra_SkylineWhispersCD_638When Metal Sucks wrote about the a new Night Flight Orchestra song, they said that no one else was going to write about the  band. Wrong! Featuring  Soilwork’s Bjorn “Speed” Strid and Arch Enemy’s Sharlee D’Angelo, the band are, as we refer to them here at Metal Insider headquarters, “maximum dadcore.” Owing a debt not to ’80s thrash or hair metal, but commercial rock music from that era like Asia and  Journey, the band writes melodic, catchy hard rock. We wrote a bunch about their debut album, and now they’ve got a new album, Skyline Whispers, coming out in June.

While a song was previewed on Danko Jones’ podcast a few weeks ago, the band premiered “Sail On,” the song that leads off their sophomore album, on Swedish site It’s a great, solid rock song that sounds like David Coverdale-era Deep Purple. Skyline Whispers will be released on June 9 via Coroner Records. Here’s the track listing:

01. Sail On
02. Living For The Nighttime
03. Stiletto
04. Owaranai Palisades
05. Lady Jade
06. I Ain’t Old, I Ain’t Young
07. All the Ladies
08. Spanish Ghosts
09. Demon Princess
10. Skyline Whispers
11. Roads Less Traveled
12. The Heather Reports
13. Floridian Eyes (exclusive digipak bonus track)