New & Noteworthy 9/17: Black Star

Posted by on September 17, 2013

carcasssurgicalcoverWhen a seminal bands that created an entire subgenre releases a new album, over a decade after their previous release, you don’t delay for anything! Check out the list, and then go pick up the new Carcass album right away!



Carcass, Surgical Steel (Nuclear Blast)


It’s been 17 years since Carcass’ Swansong, and although the band reunited for touring and festivals in 2007, it’s taken quite a lot of time for the band to finally put together new material. Surgical Steel features veteran members Jeff Walker and Bill Steer, assisted by Trigger the Bloodshed drummer Daniel Wilding and Desolation guitarist Ben Ash.


Gwar, Battle Maximus (Metal Blade)


As some will recall, guitarist Cory Smoot, a.k.a. Flattus Maximus, unfortunately passed away in November 2011 while the band was on tour, due to a coronary artery thrombosis brought on by a pre-existing heart condition. Smoot’s replacement is Cannabis Corpse guitarist Brent Purgason, who will portray the character Pustulus Maximus. Also appearing for the first time on this album is Jamison Land, taking over bass duties and the fan favorite character Beefcake the Mighty.


The Devil Wears Prada, 8:18 (Roadrunner)


2011’s Dead Throne was the last release for TDWP with Ferret Records, as the band signed a deal with Roadrunner that same year. This is the first TDWP album to not include founding keyboardist James Baney, who left the band in 2012. 8:18 was written throughout the course of 2012, but there is no word yet on who performed the keyboard sections for the album.


Satyricon, Satyricon (Nuclear Blast)


It’s been five years since Satyricon’s last album, The Age of Nero. Although drummer Frost spent most of 2009 and 2010 with his other band, 1349, as well as the supergroup Ov Hell, it’s unclear what the band has been up to in the past two years. Regardless, though, it’s good to have a new album from the Norwegian veterans.


Eyes Set to Kill, Masks (Century Media)


Although this is the band’s fifth full-length album, the band members have stated that Masks is the true follow-up album to their breakout hit, 2008’s Reach. Frontwoman Alexia Rodriguez states that the band members all felt as if they were wearing masks in order to impress people in recent years, and only a recent revelation led them to find the band’s true face in the present.


Týr, Valkyrja (Metal Blade)


Valkyrja is the seventh full-length album from the Faroese folk metal group. Týr has made the most of 2013 – they started the year as part of the 70,000 Tons of Metal cruise, and then were main support for Ensiferum on the North American portion of the Paganfest tour. Currently they are touring Europe in support of Finntroll.


Stray from the Path, Anonymous (Sumerian)


Anonymous was announced in July using the website www.whereisourliberty.com as a promotional tool. The album’s first single, “Badge & A Bullet”, was released at the same time that the album was announced. Last year’s download-only single “Landmines” is also featured on this album.


Ulcerate, Vermis (Relapse)


Auckland-based death metal group Ulcerate spent most of 2012 writing the material for Vermis. Then they holed up for two months in Auckland’s MCA Studios to record their fourth full-length. Hopefully the band will be able to capitalize on the extensive touring they did to support 2011’s The Destroyers of All, which took them all over Europe, North America, and Australia.


Haken, The Mountain (Inside Out)


This is the third full-length album from the British prog group. Their previous two albums were 2010’s Aquarius and 2011’s Visions. Haken gained the most notice from a highly successful string of shows supporting bands like King’s X and Bigelf.


Ashes of Ares, Ashes of Ares (Nuclear Blast)


Ashes of Ares is a new supergroup in the power metal and progressive metal communities. Formed by ex-Nevermore drummer Van Williams and former Iced Earth members Matt Barlow (vocals) and Freddie Vidales (bass), Ashes of Ares came together in mid-2012, with only two teaser videos on YouTube propelling them quickly into the spotlight.


Windhand, Soma (Relapse)


This stoner-doom band from Richmond, VA got their start in 2008. Soma is the group’s second album. Fans of Alabama Thunderpussy will recognize guitarist Asechiah Bogdan, who was with Alabama Thunderpussy from 1996 into the 2000s and performed on three albums.


Cult of Luna, Vertikal II (Workhorse)


This EP is a companion release to the full-length album Vertikal, which was released in January this year. The EP features three B-sides that did not make the final cut of the original album. Also included is a remix of the track “Vicarious Redemption”, done by Justin Broadrick of Godflesh.


A Storm of Light, Nations to Flames (Southern Lord)


A Storm of Light is a post-metal group from Brooklyn and the musical vision of Josh Graham, best known as the visual artist for Neurosis from 2000 through 2012. Graham left his old band Red Sparowes to focus on A Storm of Light. The group has three other full-lengths and one split album to date.


Subrosa, More Constant Than the Gods (Profound Lore)


This doom metal group from Salt Lake City formed in 2005. Their sound is notable for featuring two electric violinists and featuring a widespread range of influences, including folk music, neoclassical, and even stoner/sludge metal. More Constant Than the Gods is the group’s third full-length album overall and second since signing to Profound Lore in 2011.



Next Week: The biggest release isn’t even an album, but rather a music-driven film set to the music of the biggest metal band ever. Come back next week to find out more!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: New Music