New and Noteworthy, July 16: A New Level

Posted by on July 16, 2013

Philip-H-AnselmoWhile last week saw a bunch of new releases, this week is pretty light. However, there is still plenty of good stuff to go around for everyone! For one, the highly anticipated album from former Pantera and current Down frontman Phil Anselmo is out, we have new doom metal from Trouble, and more heavy stuff from King Conquer. Read on to find out more!

Philip H. Anselmo and the Illegals, Walk Through Exits Only (Housecore)

Phillip H. Anselmo and the Illegals finally have their debut album out on the market after having it available for online streaming for almost a week. The group based out of Louisiana have released a split EP with Warbeast this past January titled War of the Gargantuas, but the Pantera front man finally has his band’s debut album on the market. Would you expect anything less than awesome from the guy who helped get freakin’ Pantera on the map? We wouldn’t. This is definitely the must-get album of the week.

Trouble, The Distortion Field (FRW Records)

If you’re a fan of doom metal, you will love the new Trouble album. This is the band’s ninth studio album and first with FRW Records. This marks the first studio album in five years for the pioneers of the doom genre and it is the first album to feature Kyle Thomas, who was with the band from 1997-2000 and replaced Kory Clarke, who left the band this past February to work on a new side project. If you saw Trouble live between 97-00, you already know what to expect vocally from Kyle Thomas.

King Conquer, 1776 (Mediaskare)

Though the title of the sophomore effort might have been more appropriate for a few weeks ago, the Florida natives have finally released their second album. Although originally planned to release in 2012, the release kept getting pushed back because of continuing problems with mastering it and the band confirmed in November that the album will come out in 2013. This will be the final King Conquer album that will feature John Byrd however. He left the band in April after a misunderSTANDING in Texas.

Other releases:

The Things They Carried – Jamais Vu (self-released)

Defeater – Letters Home (Bridge Nine)

Evan Brewer – Your Itinerary (Sumerian)

Phantom Glue – A War Of Light Cones (Black Market Activities)

Stomach Earth – Stomach Earth (Black Market Activites)

Texas In July – Texas In July (Deluxe Edition) (Digital) (Equal Vision)

WolfSword – Beyond the Thunderclouds (Self-released)

Seven Witches – Rebirth (Frostbyte/E1 Records)

Razormaze – Annihilatia (Slaney)


Next week: New We Came as Romans, Serj Tankian, Fight or Flight, and much more!


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: New Music