Napalm Death ponder How The Years Condemn

Posted by on January 9, 2015

With the release of Napalm Death’s new album right around the corner, the band is streaming another song from their upcoming 15th studio album, Apex Predator – Easy Meat.

Bassist Shane Embury, who wrote the song “How The Years Condemn” said this about the new track:

“Musically I wanted this track to encompass lots of different rhythms and nuances in the short space of time which the song occupies, which I hope we achieve, and that it bursts with an intensity and emotion to match the theme of the lyrics!

Lyrically it’s a departure from the rest of the new album as its self-reflective – a couple of years ago I was hospitalized prior to a very important tour and was forced to miss out on going and had to stay at home. More importantly I realized in the time I was in hospital that I really had to make a choice which was either to carry on down the same path of selfish destruction as I had seen some of my friends embark on or stay around for the people I loved and who loved me!

Yes, it’s a familiar story, no doubt. but it was an awakening for me which I very much needed and shortly after I was blessed with the birth of my daughter so I am glad I made the right decision…

We are not invincible – Nor are we indestructible. There are choices – points of return…”

The other streaming track, “Cesspits,” came out this past November. The new album will be released on January 27th on Century Media Records.

Napalm Death Apex Predator – Easy Meat track listing:
1. Apex Predator – Easy Meat
2. Smash A Single Digit
3. Metaphorically Screw You
4. How The Years Condemn
5. Stubborn Stains
6. Timeless Flogging
7. Dear Slum Landlord…
8. Cesspits
9. Bloodless Coup
10. Beyond The Pale
11. Stunt Your Growth
12. Hierarchies
13. One-Eyed
14. Adversarial / Copulating Snakes



Categorised in: New Music, News