Devin Townsend reveals “Order Of Magnitude – Empath Live Volume 1,” shares Vol.2 teaser

Posted by on August 17, 2020


Devin Townsend is planning on releasing a new limited edition box-set titled, Order Of Magnitude – Empath Live Volume 1, which documents the frontman’s 2019 European tour with his new ensemble of musicians.

The set will be released on October 23rd and will feature 2CD+Blu-ray+DVD artbook (including expanded artwork and photos), limited 2CD+DVD digipak, standalone Blu-ray, gatefold 3LP+2CD vinyl box-set and as a digital Album. It doesn’t stop there as the Blu-ray disc also includes a bonus behind-the-scenes documentary, and both the DVD and Blu-ray feature a 5.1 Surround Sound mix. Pre-orders will be available on August 28th

Devin commented on the objective of the release and the fun atmosphere surrounding this event:

“The whole objective was that I wanted to make that statement: This is by the seat our pants because it’s important to me to represent this hyper anal-retentive music that I’ve made over the years, but in a human way. Rather than it just being, ‘Well, here it is, perfectly done.’

“I was overwhelmed by the fact that all these brilliant people that I have so much respect for were willing to come together and play this weird shit with me. I had these unique players and this interesting instrumentation that allowed us to interpret the music in different ways. It was clear to me that I could just have fun and be me and know that they would be effortlessly be able to follow that.

That sense of fun and freedom was evident to anyone who was there on the night. Visually, it was an assault on the senses in the best possible way. A digital screen projected vivid images throughout the show. A giant gleaming mirrorball hung from the ceiling. There were multiple costume changes and a tiki bar onstage (a tiki bar!).”

Below you can view the tracklist:

01) “Borderlands”
02) “Evermore”
03) “War”
04) “Sprite”
05) “Gigpig Jam”
06) “Coast”
07) “Gato”
08) “Heavens End”
09) “Ain’t Never Gonna Win”
10) “Deadhead”
11) “Why?”
12) “Lucky Animals”
13) “Castaway/Genesis”
14) “Spirits Will Collide”
15) “Disco Inferno”
16) “Kingdom”

Devin Townsend is also putting on a 85 minute livestream performance, “Empath Volume 2: By Request,” on September 5th, featuring a setlist of songs voted on by fans. You can grab your ticket here and watch Devin talked about it in the teaser below!




Categorised in: New Music, News