Cannibal Corpse reveal new album ‘Viiolence Unimagined’ details; officially recruit guitarist Erik Rutan

Posted by on February 2, 2021

Photo credit: Alex Morgan


Following yesterday’s early reveal, Cannibal Corpse have officially announced their new album, Violence Unimagined, out April 16th via Metal Blade Records. These death metal legends have also made their new single “Inhumane Harvest” available on all streaming platforms, along with pre-orders available now. The group has confirmed guitarist Erik Rutan (Hate Eternal) as an official member. 


Bassist Alex Webster comments on the record:

“It really follows the path we’ve been going down for a few years now. I think we approach the writing in a similar way most every time: each of us try to write the heaviest, most memorable songs we can. We want each song to have its own identifiable character. Showing my age, I like to say you can ‘drop the needle’ on any point of one of our albums and quickly tell which song you’re listening to.”


Webster expresses his excitement working with Rutan: 

“I think the most noticeable difference on this record will be the addition of Erik to the band. He wrote three full songs for the record, music and lyrics, and his song writing and guitar playing have added something new, and I think his musical style integrated into ours very well. He’s a great friend of ours, so on a personal level, he’s been a perfect fit, as we knew he would be. Beyond that, he’s one of the hardest working people I know, in music or otherwise, and he maintains a high energy, positive demeanor in challenging situations where other people might go in a negative direction. This energy and great attitude rubs off on the rest of us as well. That’s really a perfect situation to have when you add someone to a band, or any kind of team: someone who’s great at what they do, and also inspires the people around them.”


On Paul Mazurkiewicz’s drumming:

 “I think we all pushed ourselves a bit technically on this one, with Paul probably pushing the hardest. This album is probably the most drum-intense album we’ve done yet. Part of that could be a result of Erik joining the band. His song writing style often features technically challenging drumming, probably owing to his years of experience in high speed death metal.” And with typically dark and warped lyrical content, Mazurkiewicz came up with the fitting title of the record, “summing up what the band is about in every facet, and taking violence to another level of extremity.”


Listen to the single again and check out the album artwork by Vincent Locke below:



Track List:

01) Murderous Rampage

02) Necrogenic Resurrection

03) Inhumane Harvest

04) Condemnation Contagion

05) Surround, Kill, Devour

06) Ritual Annihilation

07) Follow the Blood

08) Bound and Burned

09) Slowly Sawn

10) Overtorture

11) Cerements of the Flayed




Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases