Metallica Perform Another Unreleased Song, Joined Onstage By Mercyful Fate And Others During 2nd Night Of 30th Anniversary Shows

Posted by on December 8, 2011


During the second night of their intimate 30th Anniversary shows at the Filmore in San Francisco (December 7), Metallica performed yet another song that was recorded during the Death Magnetic sessions but never released. And just like with “Hate Train,” the song performed during the first night, a rough mix version of the song called “Just A Bullet Away” was emailed to members of Metallica’s fan club following the show. And now you can listen to “Just A Bullet Away” in the video above.

Anyone thinking, though, that performing these unreleased songs was Metallica’s way of trying to make fans forget about Lulu can guess again, because one of the many surprise guests during last night’s show was none other than Lou Reed. Luckily, though, the short set of songs from Lulu wasn’t the only surprise for fans in attendance last night. Also joining the band on stage were members of Mercyful Fate (including King Diamond), Kid Rock, Ray Haller of Sweet Savage, Anthrax’s Scott Ian, Marianne Faithful and John Bush of Armored Saint (who were one of the openers that evening). And like the first show, former bassist Jason Newsted joined the band for a few songs as well, while another lucky fan got to perform with Metallica on Budgie’s “Breafan.”

You can check out the entire set list from the second night of Metallica’s intimate 30th Anniversary shows, as well as a few fan filmed clips, after the jump. The next two shows will be held on December 9 and 10.

1. To Live Is To Die (premiere)

2. Enter Sandman

3. Holier Than Thou

4. Disposable Heroes

5. Bleeding Me

6. Wasting My Hate

7. My Apocalypse

8. Just A Bullet Away (previously unreleased song from Death Magnetic sessions; premiere)

9. Breadfan (Budgie cover with Metallica fan Andrew Dowis)

10. The Memory Remains (with Marianne Faithful)

11. Killing Time (Sweet Savage cover with Ray Haller)

12. Turn The Page (with Kid Rock)

13. The Four Horsemen (with John Bush)

14. Iced Honey (with Lou Reed)

15. The View (with Lou Reed)

16. White Light/White Heat (with Lou Reed)

17. Creeping Death (with Jason Newsted)

18. Battery (with Jason Newsted)

19. Mercyful Fate Medley (Mercyful Fate cover) (with Hank Shermann, Michael Denner, Timi Hansen and King Diamond)

20. Seek & Destroy (with Jason Newsted, Scott Ian, Ray Haller, John Bush, Joey Vera, Gonzo Sandoval, and The Soul Rebels)





[set list via Blabbermouth]

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Events, New Music