New & Noteworthy, May 5th, 2017: Lots of Motion on the Shelves

Posted by on May 5, 2017

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week features new studio releases from Motionless in White and At the Drive-In, a live album from The Sword, and another Porcupine Tree vinyl reissue. If you would like to check out last week’s releases you can do so here. You can also check out last week’s sales numbers in Metal by Numbers, Incubus debuted at #2, and Metallica and Mastodon are both sitting comfortably in the top #50. If you’re not following us on Spotify yet, you’re missing out on some awesome playlists.

Studio Releases

Motionless In WhiteGraveyard Shift (Roadrunner Records)

Graveyard Shift is the fourth studio is the first album from Scranton, PA’s metalcore Motionless in White. The album is the first release since the band signed to Roadrunner Records, which was a lifelong dream for many members of the group. Graveyard Shift was produced by Drew Fulk (Fear Factory, Miss May I, etc.). Earlier this week they released a music video for the track LOUD (Fuck It), the first since they teased the album 9 month ago with a video for the track 570.  The third track on the album, “Necessary Evil,” features a vocal performance by KoRn’s Jonathan Davis. They are currently out touring in support of the album, playing twelve more U.S. shows this month before they head to Europe for a few festival dates, and then will be returning to tour from June to August. We interviewed them earlier in the weekand talked about things like their signing to Roadrunner and their hometown music scene.

At The Drive-Inin·ter a·li·a (Rise Records)

Texas’ post hardcore At the Drive-In have reunited and returned with their first release in seventeen years, in•ter a•li•a. This is the first album from the band to not feature founding guitarist, Jim Ward, but his shoes are being filled by Keeley Davis, a guitarist who also plays with Ward in the band Sparta. Leading up to the release, ATDI released a music video for the track “Hostage Stamps,” and lyric videos for the songs “Incurably Innocent” and “Governed by Contagions.” In•ter a•li•a was produced by by Rich Costey (Sigur Ros, Muse, Foster the People) and the band’s guitarist Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, and recorded at Sound Factory in Hollywood, CA. When discussing the album, drummer Tony Hajjar described it as “the most fun I’ve had in years,” going on to say that “it was so great to be around people I care for and care for me. We had some awesome, tough moments. But at the end, they were still great. When it was done we went into the studio control room, the last day of recording, we all just hugged each other. I’m so proud of my brothers, proud that we’ve done this, proud that we still get to do this at any level.”

God DethronedThe World’s Ablaze (Metal Blade)

The World’s Ablaze is the twelfth album from the Dutch death metal group God Dethroned. It is the final album in the band’s World War I themed trilogy, and their first release since the 2010’s Under the Sign of the Iron CrossThe World’s Ablaze was recorded  by the band at the end of 2016, and mixed by Dan Swanö and mastered by Sander van der Heide at Wisseloord Studios in the Netherlands. So far the band has released three music videos for the album, “Annihilation Crusade,” “On the Wrong Side of the Wire,” and “The World’s Ablaze.” God Dethroned is scheduled to be hitting a few European festival dates throughout the rest of the year, but there currently no U.S. dates.

Slaughter To PrevailMisery Sermon (Sumerian Records)

Misery Sermon is the debut full-length album from the multi-country based death metal group Slaughter to Prevail. Their first release, Chapters of Misery, caught the attention of Sumerian Records and they signed to the label before the release of Misery Sermon. Despite the band’s members being from the UK and Russia, they already have made it to the U.S. and have been out touring alongside Oceano and Aversions Crown this past month. That tour will be finishing up the trek on the 20th in Indianapolis, IN. 

Seven Kingdoms, Decennium (Napalm)

Decennium is the fourth album from the Florida based power metal group Seven Kingdoms. It is also the band’s first release since signing to Napalm Records. Leading up to the release, the band has release music videos for the tracks “Kingslayer” and “Neverending,” as well as lyric videos for “Stargazer” and “In the Walls.” Back in December they successfully crowdfunded the album on Kickstarted, reaching their initial goal of $13,000 in just under a week’s time, eventually going on to raise $23,000. Tomorrow the band kicks off a 24 date U.S. tour supporting Evergrey in Orlando, FL. 

Live Release

The SwordGreetings From… (Razor & Tie)

Greetings From… is the first live album from Texas’ The Sword. Last year, while on tour with Opeth, the band recorded all of their live shows and are now releasing a collection of nine songs from that tour. The band will be our touring the U.S. in support of the release, focusing mainly on the east coast, this month and into July. Greetings From…  is also available on vinyl.

Vinyl Releases

AutopsyMental Funeral (Peaceville)

California death metal group Autopsy’s 1991 album Mental Funeral gets a picture disc reissue.

Bad BrainsBuild A Nation (Megaforce)

Ten years after it’s release, hardcore punk group Bad Brains’ Build a Nation get’s a vinyl reissue.

GorgutsColored Sands (Season Of Mist)

Canada’s tech-death group Gorgut are reissuing their 2013 album album Colored Sands on transparent/sand colored vinyl.

HarkCrystalline (Season Of Mist)

Wales’ sludge metal Hark’s 2014 debut album Crystalline gets a reissue on clear Vinyl

Porcupine TreeThe Sky Moves Sideways (Kscope)

England’s prog rock Porcupine Tree has been reissuing a large portion of their catalogue on vinyl recently, with this week’s release being their 1995 album The Sky Moves Sideways. 


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy