New & Noteworthy: March 29th, 2019 – Howdilly Newdilly

Posted by on March 29, 2019

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week brings us new music from Devin Townsend, Whitechapel, and more! You can check out the last New & Noteworthy here, and the latest sales numbers in Metal By Numbers. Be sure to follow us on Spotify to get this month’s New & Noteworthy Playlist, updated every Friday with the newest metal releases.

I’ve been down in Jacksonville, Florida all this week for work and haven’t had much time for music stuff besides jamming to some Tyr, Avantasia, and Soilwork at the hotel hot tub.

New Releases

Devin Townsend, Empath (InsideOut Music)

Canada. Progressive rock / metal / whatever Devin wants. First album since disbanding the Devin Townsend Project and going solo. Features guest appearances from Frank Zappa alumni Mike Keneally as music director, as well as Morgan Ågren (Mats And Morgan, Frank Zappa, Fredrik Thordendal), Anup Sastry (Monuments, Periphery), Samus Paulicelli (Decrepit Birth, Abigail Williams), Nathan Navarro, Elliot Desagnes, Steve Vai, Chad Kroeger, Anneke Van Giersbergen, Ché Aimee Dorval, Ryan Dhale and the Elektra Women’s Choir.

Music videos: Genesis” and “Evermore
Upcoming Dates
: North America, solo-acoustic tour opening for Avatar; Europe, November into December.
Empath will also be available on vinyl.

Whitechapel, The Valley (Metal Blade)

Knoxville, Tennessee. Deathcore. This is the band’s seventh studio album.

Music videos: “Hickory Creek” and “When a Demon Defiles a Witch
Upcoming dates: North America, April and May with Dying Fetus, Revocation, and Fallujah; Europe, June and July.
The Valley will also be available on vinyl.

Okilly Dokilly, Howdilly Twodilly (N/A)

Ned Flanders themed metal band Okilly Dokilly releases their second album.

Music video: “Reneducation



9Electric, Megalith (Pavement Entertainment)
A New Revenge, Enemies & Lovers (Golden Robot Records)
Arrival Of Autumn, Harbinger (Nuclear Blast Entertainment)
Bloodline, Better View (Stay Sick Recordings)
Brutus, Nest (Sargent House/Hassle Records)
East Of The Wall, NP-Complete (Translation Loss)
Forever Still, Breathe In Colours (Nuclear Blast)
Hell Fire, Mania (RidingEasy Records)
I Prevail, Trauma (Fearless)
Lee McKinney, Infinite Mind (Sumerian Records)
Moon Tooth, Crux (Modern Static Records)
Oshiego, The Book Of Wonders (Horror Pain Gore Death Productions)
Skryptor, Luminous Volumes (Skin Graft/Aqualamb/Sleeping Giant Glossolalia)
Thunderclap, Inebriocean (Financial Ruin)
Totaled, Lament (Profound Lore)
Triumvir Foul, VT​-​XXIV || Urine Of Abomination (20 Buck Spin/Invictus Productions)
VLTIMAS, Something Wicked Marches In (Season Of Mist)

Vinyl Release

Melvins, Pinkus Abortion Technician  (Ipecac Recordings)


Tags: , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy