New & Noteworthy: February 16th, 2018: If There Is New Music, It Will Find You

Posted by on February 16, 2018

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week we’ve got new music from Angra, Pop Evil, and many more. If you would like to check out the last New & Noteworthy, you can do so here, if you want to see last week’s sales numbers, check those out in Metal by Numbers. Saxon’s latest releases marks the band’s highest debut in the U.S. of their career. Also be sure to follow us on Spotify for weekly new music playlists, curated by yours truly!

Studio Releases

Angra, Ømni (earMUSIC)

Ømni is the ninth studio album from the Brazilian progressive power metal band Angra. The band teamed up with producer Jens Bogren for the album, who has really become one of my personal favorite producer over the last few years. It is their first release on the label earMUSIC, having previously been signed to Edel Music in the U.S. & Universal Music in their home country. So far they have released a music video for the song “War Horns,” and a lyric video for “Travelers of Time.” Since the (temporary) departure of guitarist Kiko Loureiro in 2015, who has been on lead guitar duty for Megadeth, the band has brought on Brazilian guitarist and music teacher Marcelo Barbosa to fill the role. The song “Black Widow’s Web” even features a guest appearance by Arch Enemy vocalist Allissa White-Gluz! Angra will be touring worldwide for most of the year in support of the album, but it seems that their only U.S. is still ProgPower USA.


Senses Fail, If There Is Light, It Will Find You (Pure Noise)

If there is Light, It Will Find You is the seventh full length album from the New Jersey post hardcore group Senses Fail. This is the first album to feature bassist Jason Millbank, who took over for Gavin Caswell when he switched to playing rhythm guitar for the band. Last month they released a music video for the track “Gold Jacket, Green Jacket.” You can catch them later this month as they will be going on tour throughout North America alongside Reggie & the Full Effect starting on the 27th and going all through March. If There is Light, It Will Find You is also available on vinyl and Bandcamp!




Pop Evil, Pop Evil (eOne Music)

Michigan based hard rock band Pop Evil is releasing their fifth full length studio album, Pop Evil. Recorded at Sound Emporium in Nashville, Tennessee alongside producer Kato Khandwala (The Pretty Reckless, Pierce the Veil, Papa Roach) the album captures the band at their heaviest and most politically charged, with the band taking a lot of inspiration from the current cultural climate in the United Stated. It is also the first to feature Hayley Cramer on drums, who replaced Joshua Marunde in 2016. Leading up to the release Pop Evil has released music videos for two tracks, “Waking Lions” and “Colors Bleed.” They just kicked off their North American “Music Over Words” tour this week, alongside Palaye Royale and Black Map, and will be playing all over until early April. Pop Evil is also available on vinyl.



American Nightmare, American Nightmare (Rise Records)
Ataraxy, Where All Hope Fades (Dark Descent)
Barren Womb, Old Money / New Lows (Spartan Records)
Ektomorf, Fury (AFM Records)
Exintction A.D., Decimation Treaty (Good Fight Music)
Eyes Set To Kill, Eyes Set To Kill (Century Media)
Feed The Rhino, The Silence (Century Media)
For The Fallen Dreams, Six (Rise Records)
Harakiri For The Sky, Arson (AOP Records)
Heavatar, Opus II – The Annihilation (earMusic)
Jinjer, Cloud Factory (Reissue) (Napalm Records)
John Corabi, Live 94 (One Night In Nashville) (Rat Pak)
Loathe/Holding Absence, This Is As One (SharpTone Records)
Neal Morse, Life & Times (Radiant)
Novareign, Legends (M-Theory Audio)
Ophe, Litteras Ad Tristia Maestrum Solitude (My Kingdom)
Painted Doll, Painted Doll (Tee Pee)
Perverted Ceremony, Sabbat Of Behezael (Nuclear War Now)
Pianos Become the Teeth, Wait for Love (Epitaph)
Syphilic, In the Pen (Luxor Records)
The Plot In You, Dispose (Fearless Records)
Visions Of Atlantis, The Deep & The Dark (Napalm Records)
Windhand/Satan’s Satyrs, Split (Relapse)

Vinyl Releases

Baxaxaxa, Hellfire (Nuclear War Now)
Cadaveric Incubator, Sermons Of The Devouring Dead (Hell’s Headbangers)
Deathcult, Cult Of The Goat (Soulseller)
Salems Pot, Live At Roadburn 2016 (Roadburn Productions)


Tags: , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy