New & Noteworthy is Metal Insider’s weekly column highlighting some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This first New Music Friday of June sees releases from veteran bands like Bon Jovi, Cactus and Evergrey, as well as Butthole Surfers’ JD Pinkus, Candy, Sect, Goat Girl and Pedro The Lion, among many, many more. Don’t forget to check out our weekly playlist below. Enjoy!

Release Highlights:

Bon Jovi, Forever (Island):
Following frontman Jon Bon Jovi’s vocal cord surgery two years ago, the legendary hard rockers release their 16th studio effort. Said Bon Jovi in a press release, “This record is a return to joy. From the writing, through the recording process, this is turn up the volume, feel good Bon Jovi.”

Candy, It’s Inside You (Relapse):
The hardcore band describes the sound of their new album as “A brazen take on hardcore, metal, and disparate electronics and experimental soundscapes.”

Cactus, Temple of Blues – Influences & Friends (Cleopatra):
Looking to “revisit its best songs within a modern rock approach to traditional blues,” Carmine Appice is joined by the likes of Dee Snider, Joe Bonamassa, Randy Jackson, Ted Nugent, Warren Haynes, Tim “Ripper” Owens and more on Cactus’ latest studio album. 

Evergrey, Theories of Emptiness (Napalm):
According to a press release, their 14th studio effort is “one of the most dynamic records the band has ever crafted throughout their impressive career.”

JD Pinkus, Grow a Pear (Shimmy):
The Butthole Surfers bassist’s latest solo effort, filled with tunes originally meant for an aborted BS album, is described by Pinkus as “a combo of heavy psychedelia, drum and bass grooves, bouncy boogie, catchy tunes and sprinkles of tastee horns, keys and strings thrown in.”

June 7, 2024 Releases:

The Omnific, The Law of Augmenting Returns (Wild Thing)
Perennial, Art History (Ernest Jenning Record Co.)
Razor Braids, Big Wave (Independent)
Sect, Plagues Upon Plagues (Southern Lord)
Strand of Oaks, Miracle Focus (Western Vinyl)
Umbra Vitae, Light of Death (Deathwish)
Insect Ark, Raw Blood Singing (Debemur Morti)
Goat Girl, Below The Waste (Rough Trade)
Pedro the Lion, Santa Cruz (Polyvinyl)
Apocalyptica, Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2 (Throwdown)
Grand Slam, Wheel Of Fortune (Silver Lining)
Holy Mother, Rise (Massacre)
Huntsmen, The Dry Land (Prosthetic)
Issa, Another World (Frontiers)
Missing Link, Watch Me Bleed (Triple B)
Mythraeum, Oblivion Aeternam (M-Theory)
Nightmare, Encrypted (AFM)
Rendezvous Point, Dream Chaser (Long Branch)
Severe Torture, Torn From The Jaws Of Death (Season Of Mist)
Voidgazer, Dance Of The Undesirables (Reigning Phoenix)
Intranced, Muerte y metal (High Roller)
Swelling Repulsion, Fatally Misguided (Transcending Obscurity)
Oubliette, Eternity Whispers (The Artisan Era)
Dope Smoker, Wolf’s Castle (Independent)
Monumental Discharge, Cesspit Earth (Independent)
Withering Surface, Exit Plan (Mighty Music)
Dysrhythmia, Coffin of Conviction (Nightfloat Recordings)
Void Moon, Dreams Inside the Sun (Personal)
Vomit the Soul, Massive Incineration (Unique Leader)
WyndRider, Revival (Electric Valley)
Ad Patres, Unbreathable (Non Serviam)
Blynd, Unbeliever (Pitch Black)
Glyph, Odes of Wailing, Hymns of Mourning (Shape of Storms)
Noroth, Sacrificial Solace (Carbonized)
Gurt, Satan Etc (Independent)
Void Commander, Alien Queen (Majestic Mountain)
Immortal Disfigurement, King (Independent)
Numento, The Antimatter Fantasy (Independent)
Ordalie, Indifferent Universe (Paragon)
Bong Coffin, Labyrinthine (Independent)
Möebius, Kryptomnesia (Independent)

Order links provided by Amazon and Bandcamp!