New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. The week features new releases from Fit for a King, Ace Frehley, Derek Sherinian, Napalm Death, and more! For last week’s new releases you can check out the last New & Noteworthy, and for the latest sales numbers Metal by Numbers. Be sure to follow us on Spotify to get this month’s New & Noteworthy Playlist, updated every Friday with the newest metal releases.  


Fit For A King, The Path (Solid State Records)
Sixth studio album. Tyler, Texas. Metalcore.

Music videos: “Locked (In My Head)” “The Path
Lyric video: “Stockhold
Producer: Drew Fulk
Guest: “God of Fire” (ft )Ryo Kinoshita of Crystal Lake
Trailers: “Studio Update 4” “Studio Update 3” “Studio Update 2” “Studio Update 1
The Path is also available on vinyl.


Ace Frehley, Origins Vol. 2 (eOne Music)
Ninth solo studio album from former Kiss guitarist Ace Frehley. Rock.

Music video: “Space Truckin’
Visualizer: “I’m Down
Origins Vol 2 is also available on blue and white vinyl.


Derek Sherinian, The Phoenix (Century Media)
Eighth solo studio album from Keyboardist Derek Sherinian (Black Country Communion, Sons of Apollo, ex- Dream Theater).

Music videos: “Dragonfly” “Them Changes” “Empyrean Sky
Trailers: “The Phoenix” “Empyrean Sky
The Phoenix is also available on vinyl.


Napalm Death, Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism (Century Media)
Sixteenth studio album. Meriden, England. Grind metal.

Music video: “A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen” “Amoral
Lyric video: “Backlash Just Because
Producer: Russ Russe;;
Throes Of Joy In The Jaws of Defeatism will also be available on vinyl.


Finntroll, Vredesvävd (Century Media)
Seventh studio album. Helsinki, Findland. Folk metal.

Music videos: “Mask” “Forsen
Vredesvävd is also available on vinyl.




10 Years, Violent Allies (Mascot Records)
Carnation, Where Death Lies (Season Of Mist)
Heathen, Empire Of The Blind (Nuclear Blast)
Krosis, Mount Of Sacrifice (Reissue) (N/A)
Raven, Metal City (SPV/Steamhammer)
Soulbound, Addicted (Metalville Records)
Varg, Zeichen (Napalm Records)
Various Artists, Dirt (Redux) (Magnetic Eye Records)

Vinyl Releases

Behemoth, And The Forests Dream Eternally (Metal Blade Records)