New & Noteworthy is Metal Insider’s weekly column highlighting some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week will see new works from the likes of Buffalo Tom, Big Head Todd And The Monsters, Nestor, Shrapnel & Thou, the debut of Bed Maker, a posthumous album from Suicide’s Alan Vega and the return of Suede’s Bernard Butler among many, many more. Don’t forget to check out our weekly playlist below. Enjoy!

Release Highlights:

Buffalo Tom, Jump Rope (Scrawny):
Taking another six years between albums, the veteran alt-rockers return with their 10th studio effort that Magnet Magazine called “a vibrant, intermittently playful and somber testament to maturity and resilience.”

Alan Vega, Insurrection (In the Red):
The Suicide frontman’s estate releases his third posthumous album. 

Bed Maker, Bed Maker (Dischord):
The band’s debut full-length was recorded with DC hardcore legend Ian MacKaye (Fugazi, Minor Threat).

Bernard Butler, Good Grief (355 Recordings):
The original Suede guitarist releases his first solo album in 25 years. 

Big Head Todd and the Monsters, Her Way Out (Big):
The prolific alt-rockers return with their first new album in seven years. 

Nestor, Teenage Rebel (Napalm):
After a 30 year hiatus that saw the 80s hard rockers release their debut LP in 2021, the band returns with their second album, which a press release describes as “a rebellious and energetic onslaught that convinces with enormous hit density while invoking the spirit of youth.”

Shrapnel, In Gravity (Candlelight):
The thrash metal band releases their fourth studio effort, a self-reflective, tragedy-informed work of which frontman Chris Martin has said “We’ve really been holding the mirror up and exercising some demons on this one. It’s led to the best album we’ve ever written, and something we hope will connect other people far more deeply than anything we’ve released previously.”

Thou, Umbilical (Sacred Bones):
Nearly six years after their last album, the band returns with its sixth studio LP, which their bio says is “filled with mosh-ready riffs, heavy breakdowns and scathing vocals.”

Editor’s Pick: Witherfall, Sounds Of The Forgotten (Deathwave):
Dark melodic masters have returned with their fourth and most ambitious record to date. Reconnecting with their independent roots, Witherfall’s latest masterpiece shatters boundaries, unleashing a torrent of emotion and riffs.

May 31, 2024 Releases:

Another Michael, Pick Me Up, Turn Me Upside Down (Run For Cover)
Wormwood, The Star (Black Lodge)
The Hope Conspiracy, Tools of Oppression / Rule By Deception (Deathwish)
Lowlives, Freaking Out (Spinefarm)
Broken Head, The Morning Ends (Sunday Drive) 
Dusk, Industrie (Independent) 
Habibi, Dreamachine (Kill Rock Stars)
Bad Nerves, Still Nervous (Lowly)
The Woggles, Time Has Come (Wicked Cool)
Crowded House, Gravity Stairs (Lester)
Jon Foreman (of Switchfoot), In Bloom (lowercase people/Capitol CMG)
Chve, Kalvarie (Relapse)
Four Stroke Baron, Data Diamond (Prosthetic)
Hellbutcher, Hellbutcher (Metal Blade)
High Desert Queen, Palm Reader (Magnetic Eye)
Reliqa, Secrets Of The Future (Nuclear Blast)
Rhapsody Of Fire, Challenge The Wind (AFM)
Saltpig, Saltpig (Heavy Psych Sounds)
Idol Throne, A Clarion Call (Stormspell)
Cloven Hoof, Heathen Cross (High Roller)
Nightrage, Remains of a Dead World (Despotz)
Swampbeast, Offering of Chaos, Lamenting in the Blood of Man (Translation Loss)
The Troops of Doom, A Mass to the Grotesque (Alma Mater)
Gurthang, Martyrium (Immortal Frost Productions)
Arhat, Secrets of Ancient Gods (Independent)
Vicolo Inferno, Circles (Rockshots)
Post Pulse, Return to the Halls (Independent)
Stormcrow, Path to Ascension (Time to Kill)
SIG:AR:TYR, Citadel of Stars (Hammerheart)
Cobra the Impaler, Karma Collision (Listenable)
ADX, L’empire du crépuscule (Verycords)
Adversarial, Solitude with the Eternal… (Dark Descent)
Suffering Souls, An Iconic Taste of Demise (Fetzner Death)
House by the Cemetary, The Mortuary Hauntings (Pulverised)
Krater, Phrenesis (Independent)
Auro Control, The Harp (Rockshots)
Bastardane, Catatonic Symphony (Independent)
Árstíðir Lífsins, Aldrlok (Ván)
Mortuary Sickness, What Lies Beyond… (Independent)
Humanity Defiled, Deficient Breed (Independent)
Ian Highhill, Gallows (Independent)
Feigd, Warrior’s Path (Independent)
Tsatthoggua, We Are God (Osmose Productions)
Beaten to Death, Sunrise over Rigor Mortis (Mas-Kina Recordings)
VK3312, Horrorskooppi (Independent)
Nekrodawn, Sculpted by Torture (Independent)

Order links provided by Amazon and Bandcamp!