New & Noteworthy: August 28th, 2020 – Si Vis Pacem, Para New Releasum

Posted by on August 28, 2020

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. The week features the long awaited S&M2 from Metallica, a solo album from Dream Theater’s John Petrucci, an In Flames re-release nobody asked for, and more! For last week’s new releases you can check out the last New & Noteworthy, and for the latest sales numbers Metal by Numbers. Be sure to follow us on Spotify to get this month’s New & Noteworthy Playlist, updated every Friday with the newest metal releases.


New Releases

Metallica, S&M2 (Blackened Recordings)
Second live album with the San Francisco Symphony. Bay Area, California. Thrash metal.

Live videos: “For Whom the Bell Tolls” “Moth Into Flame” “All Within my Hands” “Nothing Else Matters
Trailer: S&M2 TrailerDeluxe Box Set Unboxing
S&M2 is also available on Blu-Ray and vinyl.


John Petrucci, Terminal Velocity (Sound Mind Music/The Orchard Music)
Second solo album from Dream Theater Guitarist John Petrucci. Long Island, New York. Instrumental rock / metal. Terminal Velocity features Mike Portnoy (ex-Dream Theater, Sons of Apollo, every other prog metal band that needs a drummer) and bassist Dave LaRue (Flying Colors, Steve Morse Band), and marks the first time Portnoy and Petrucci have worked together on new music since Mike left the band.

Music video: “Terminal Velocity
Trailer: Special Guests & Tracklist Reveal
Mixer & Masteter: Andy Sneap
Terminal Velocity is also available on vinyl.



In Flames, Clayman (20th Anniversary Edition) (Nuclear Blast)
Re-release of their 2000 album Clayman. Sweden. Melodic death metal (sort of). Features remasters of the original album, an instrumental, and 4 re-recorded tracks.

Music video: Pinball Map
Lyric Videos:
Bullet Ride” “Clayman
: Ted Jensen (Pantera, Deftones, Gojira)
Producer: Howard Benson (My Chemical Romance, Motorhead) 
Mixer: Chris Lord-Alge (Green Day, Rob Zombie).  
Trailer: “Then and Now: The Evolution of the Band
Clayman (20th Anniversary Edition) is also available on vinyl.


Seether, Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum (Fantasy Recordings)
Eighth studio album. Pretoria, South Africa. Hard rock.

Music videos: “Dangerous” “Beg” “Dangerous (Acoustic)
Producer: Shaun Morgan at Blackbird Studio in Nashville, Tennessee.
Engineering & Mixing: Matt Hyde
Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum is also vinyl.


Various Artists, Bill & Ted Face The Music Soundtrack (Tenthousand Projects)

Soundtrack to Bill & Ted Face the Music starring Keanu Reaves and Alex Winter. Features music from Tosin Abasi (Animals as Leaders), Mastodon, Lamb of God, Weezer, and more.
Trailers: Trailer 1, Trailer 2, Trailer 3.




Brain Corrosion/Ripped To Shreds, Exhumed From Eastern Tombs (Horror Pain Gore Death)
Cultus Profano, Accursed Possession (Debemur Morti Productions)
Exist, Egoiista (Prosthetic Records)
From Ashes To New, Panic (Better Noise Music)
Lynch Mob, Wicked Sensation (30th Annviersary) (Rad Pak Records)
Necrot, Mortal (Tankcrimes)
Ominous Scriptures, The Fall Of The Celestial Throne (Willowtip)
Pain Of Salvation, Panther (Century Media) 
Panzerfaust, The Suns Of Perdition II: Render Unto Eden (Eisenwald)
Pig Destroyer, The Octagonal Stairway (Relapse)
Powerman 5000, The Noble Rot (Cleopatra Records)
Shattered Sun, Bled For You (Hammer Forged Records)
The Atomic Bitchwax, Scorpio (Tee Pee Records)
The Devil’s Trade, The Call Of The Iron Peak (Season Of Mist)


Vinyl Releases

Opeth, Orchid (Spinefarm)
Slugdge, Born Of Slime (Willowtip)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: New & Noteworthy