Video Premiere: Dictated – “Hypso”

Posted by on August 22, 2019

Dutch death metal outfit Dictated have announced their overall third studio effort, Phobos, will be released on October 25th. Their upcoming album was recorded, mixed and mastered at Double Impact Productions by Pieter Tjeerdsma and WD Glashouwer. The follow-up to 2014’s The Deceived officially marks the next chapter for the group. They’ve entered a darker territory filled with crushing riffs and blast beats as they aren’t afraid to unleash mankind’s greatest fears into their intensified music. Dictated are no stranger to the stage as they’ve shared the platform with bands such as Benighted, Dying Fetus, and Suffocation.

To celebrate their new album, the group has premiered a video for the abrasive track “Hypso,” which features guest vocals from Benighted’s Julien Truchan. The video was made by Cor Baauw from Local Androids. 

Dictated commented:

“We invite you to enter the new unnerving death-metal universe of Dictated. We are beyond excited to give you a first glance at ‘Phobos’, with a brand new track and video. ‘Hypso’ is the very first of the eleven phobias represented on the album, and is known as the extreme fear of heights. And even though you may suffer from this pretty common phobia, we designed it to be a bit darker; the mind’s uncontrollable urge to take the leap….”

The video also functions as an introduction to all fears that are represented on the album with which intensity increases towards the end. You might even hear a familiar voice in the track itself. The mighty Julien Truchan of Benighted offered his guttural blessings for this one. Now sit back, relax and undergo the combination of death-metal adding mankind’s greatest fears!”

Truchan added:

“I am so honoured and happy to appear as a guest vocalist on the new album of my buddies Dictated ! These guys are amazing people and very talented musicians ! I fucking love this song and really enjoyed recording vocals on it ! Check the result of this fantastic piece of brutality!”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:

Track List: 

01) Hypso (featuring guest vocals by Benighted’s Julien Truchan)

02) Thalasso

03) Lysso

04) Taphe

05) Chira

06) Apeiro

07) Eisoptro

08) Glosso

09) Trypo

10) Athaza Gora (featuring guest solo by Mendel bij de Leij (Ex-Aborted))

11) Atychi


Check out the artwork by Greg ‘AbsuManiac’ Czart:



Categorised in: New Music, News, Premieres, Releases, Video