The Ghost Inside Announce self-titled album, release single “Aftermath”

Posted by on April 23, 2020


Metalcore band The Ghost Inside has announced that they will be releasing a new album. The self-titled project is currently set for release June 5 through Epitaph Records.

Produced by Will Putney and A Day To Remember’s Jeremy McKinnon, The Ghost Inside is the band’s first album in six years, as well as their first release since a tragic 2015 bus accident took the lives of their driver and the people in the other car, and seriously injured vocalist Jonathan Vigil, guitarists Zach Johnson and Chris Davis, drummer Andrew Tkaczyk and bassist Jim Riley.

Started before the accident, the songs they had been working on for the album took on new meaning afterwards. What resulted was, “11 songs of  determination, deep resolve, reflection, and newfound hope.”

According to the band, The Ghost Inside is their most collaborative album to date. Riley told Kerrang!

“This is the first time that all five people in the band, for the overwhelming majority of the actual studio time, were all together in the room. In the last two processes specifically, Aaron Brooks [founding guitarist, who departed in 2014] really took on a bulk of that responsibility for putting the songs together. Each of us was there for our portion of the record, but he was the guy that was in the room the entire time. And this time, as much as humanly possible, all five of us were in the room with Will and Jeremy, actively participating in the process. It was real a team effort. And I think that that paid big dividends for us. It felt like we were supporting each other through stuff that was not always easy to like accomplish.”

“This by far feels like the most collaborative effort we’ve ever put together,” Riley continues. “There are moments on the record where you can hear each one of us coming through, and parts that have the personality of each person in the band. I don’t think that that would have happened if we had not done this together.”

In addition to the album announcement, the band has also released the album’s first single, “Aftermath.” Said Riley of the track:

“We went into the writing process knowing full well that every song and every lyric would be influenced by what we’ve been through, but we tried our best for them to be relatable to everyone. With ‘Aftermath’, we let it be much more personal — this one is us telling our story. So when it was time to choose a first song to share with the world, it felt right for it to be ‘Aftermath’. It allows anyone that listens into our world, but it also lets us put final punctuation on that chapter of our lives. ‘Aftermath’ is a total catharsis for us. We let it all out in the song so that it’s not bottled up inside us anymore and we can heal and move on, since after all, the beat goes on.”

Despite the album being influenced by the accident, the band does not plan to dwell on it. Riley continues:

“This isn’t about what happened to us. We won’t get lost in that one day. This is about our journey, our growth, and who we are.”

The Ghost Inside released their last album, Dear Youth, in 2014. The album was their best-performing release to date, reaching number 63 on the Billboard 200 and number nine on the Independent Albums chart.



Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video