photo credit: Patric Ullaeus


Cinematic duo project Silent Skies featuring Evergrey’s Tom S. Englund and pianist/composer Vikram Shankar have unveiled a video for their latest single, “Churches.” The track is taken from their upcoming effort, Dormant, out September 1st via Napalm Records. 


The duo comment on the track:

“With ‘Churches’, we invite you to take a further step into the universe of Dormant. ‘Churches’ showcases further shades of color and texture in our sonic palette that have developed during the last year and half of creation. As always, the subject of the lyrics is open to interpretation: but whether you view it as a love song between two parties, a dialogue with your inner self, or something else entirely, we welcome you to approach the idea of ‘Churches’ in a metaphorical and poetic sense. We hope this song inspires introspection and encourages a quest for inner truth.”


On the album, the two express:

“We are thrilled to present Dormant, our third record, crafted with immense joy and offered with satisfaction and eagerness to share our heartfelt dedication over the past 18 months. With Dormant, SILENT SKIES propels itself further into more uncharted territory, embarking on a journey whose destination remains unknown even to us. Like passengers on a train, we embrace the excitement and exhilaration of the ride, relishing in the uncertainty of our future direction. The freedom of creativity is a vital source of energy for us during the composition and production journey for our music. Within Dormant, you will find a multitude of intricate details, a plethora of musical landscapes, and an abundance of concepts, all waiting for you to dive in and explore their depths. At its core, Dormant delves into the awakening of a sleeping or forgotten consciousness, urging it to be present and take action in the now. It is an album that, from the early stages, felt like a profound conversation with life, about life. It encapsulates the ongoing dialogue and introspection with our inner selves as we seek equilibrium and harmony. Ultimately, it is a realization that what we yearn for is a stillness of the mind and soul — a sense of contentment, pride, and connection with what is our most authentic selves. We believe that you will find resonance with many of the reflections we share within Dormant, and we eagerly anticipate continuing this dialogue with all of you. This journey has only just begun. Let’s awaken together. Tom & Vikram”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:

Track List:

01) Construct

02) New Life

03) Churches

04) Just Above The Clouds

05) Reset

06) Tides

07) The Real Me

08) Light Up The Dark

09) Dormant

10) The Last On Earth

11) The Trooper (Bonus Track)

12) Dancing In The Dark (Bonus Track)

13) Numb (Bonus Track)