Scar Symmetry have announced the release of their first new album in nine years, The Singularity (Phase II – Xenotaph), out June 9th via Nuclear Blast. The forthcoming record marks the second installment of The Singularity Trilogy. To celebrate the announcement, the band has shared a video for the album’s first single, “Scorched Quadrant.” 


Per Nilsson comments:

“It brings us the utmost pleasure and pride to announce the long-awaited and much-teased ‘Phase II’ to the world along with its first single! It’s been a long time coming but I’m glad that we went the extra mile to make everything as perfect as we felt it needed to be. The world is a different place in 2023 than it was in 2014 when ‘Neohumanity’ was released… We see the rise of AI before our very eyes and while we all look in awe at the wonders it can create it is easy to think of some very disturbing scenarios. In our new album, we once again explore these themes of neohumanity, artificial intelligence and the technological singularity from a dystopian point of view. The AI-enhanced neo-humans are waging war upon the unmodified majority of mankind who don’t stand a chance against their technologically superior oppressors, until one day, a glimmer of salvation appears in the night sky. Almost impossible to first take in; as an utterly alien mirage, seemingly out of nowhere mysterious, giant spacecrafts silently emerge from the heavens. Travelers both intergalactic and interdimensional, these ultra-terrestrial beings who have been watching mankind for millennia seem to have decided to not sit idle while the technocalyptic cybergeddon is ravaging our planet. We recently renewed our vows with Nuclear Blast and we’re very thrilled about moving on to this next phase (ahem) of our career with them by our side! The ‘Phase II’ touring cycle starts today and fittingly, we begin with a tour supporting my former employer’s Meshuggah! We hope to see you all on the road soon, but until then, here’s Scorched Quadrant!”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here:


Track List:

01) Chrononautilus

02) Scorched Quadrant

03) Overworld

04) Altergeist

05) Reichsfall

06) Digiphrenia Dawn

07) Hyperborean Plains

08) Gridworm

09) A Voyage With Tailed Meteors

10) Soulscanner

11) Xenotaph