Sacred Reich announce first album in 23 years, ‘Awakening,’ unveil title track

Posted by on June 18, 2019

The wait is finally over! Sacred Reich have announced their new album Awakening will be released on August 23rd via Metal Blade Records. This marks the group’s first album in twenty-three years, which makes it the official follow-up to 1996’s Heal. These Arizona thrash legends’ new album is expected to be a “collection comprised of blistering thrash, crushing grooves, and killer solos.” The recording took place at Platinum Underground studios in Mesa, AZ with producer Arthur Rizk (Power Trip, Cavalera Conspiracy) and engineer John Aquilino as the mastering was done by Maor Appelbaum at Maor Appelbaum Mastering, CA.

Bassist Phil Rind commented on the new album:

“Going into it, we had a loose idea as far as knowing that we wanted some fast, heavy songs to honor the old school fans that have supported us and gotten us to this point. We wanted everything to happen naturally. We didn’t want to force anything and we are super stoked with every song. It is easily the best thing we have ever done. Regardless of what happens with the record, the experience of making it was enough to satisfy us. Obviously we hope people like it, but even if it tanked, it could not change the way we feel about it. We know what we did.”

Awakening will also showcase the return of drummer Dave McClain who left the group back in 1997 and returned last year. We will also hear the addition of 22-year-old guitarist Joey Radziwill.

Rind commented on the current lineup:

“Dave is such a killer drummer and person. He works every day to become a better drummer, and I mean every day. His work ethic is inspiring. As much as he has accomplished, he is still open to what comes. Joey brings a higher level of musicianship and tightness to our band, and he brings a freshness to us. He gives us an opportunity for us to see things from a different perspective, and all of us were blown away by what he can do with a guitar and how effortlessly he does it.”

Today (18th) these thrashers have unleashed the Mark Pellington (Foo Fighters, Pearl Jam, Public Enemy, etc.) directed  music video for the title track.

Check out the clip below and pre-order the album here:

Track List: 
01) Awakening
02) Divide & Conquer
03) Salvation
04) Manifest Reality
05) Killing Machine
06) Death Valley
07) Revolution
08) Something to Believe 


Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video