Mastodon have teamed up with DC Comics and Loma Vista Recordings on their upcoming, Dark Nights: Death Metal SoundtrackFor those unaware, Dark Nights: Death Metal is the sequel to 2017’s Dark Nights: Metal, which is a comic book crossover limited series created by Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo spanning from June 2020-January 2021. Given the comic’s title, it’s only appropriate an accompanying metal soundtrack was made.

Forged by Neron” is the first single to be released from the 15 track LP featuring several notable bands and artists such as Rise Against, Manchester Orchestra, Greg Puciato (The Dillinger Escape Plan) etc. Tyler Bates (“Guardians of the Galaxy,” “Watchmen,” “John Wick”) took over duties as executive producer.

Brann Dailor of Mastodon commented on being included on the soundtrack.

“We are super excited and honored to be part of the Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack! We’ve all been fans of DC Comics and the Batman universe since we were kids, so it really means a lot for us to be able to add something to that world.”

The soundtrack will be released digitally on June 18th, 2021, and physically on July 16th, 2021 here. Limited bundles included CD, and 2xLP—with exclusive Superman, Wonder Woman, and Batman vinyl variant covers, 11 limited edition character trading cards and more.

Check out the tracklist below!

‘Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack’ Tracklist:
1. Mastodon – “Forged by Neron”
2. Chelsea Wolfe – “Diana”
3. HEALTH, Tyler Bates – “ANTI-LIFE (feat. Chino Moreno)”
4. Maria Brink, Tyler Bates – “Meet Me In Fire (feat. Andy Biersack)”
5. Grey Daze – “Anything, Anything”
6. Rise Against – :Broken Dreams, Inc.”
7. Manchester Orchestra – “Never Ending”
8. Denzel Curry, PlayThatBoiZay – “Bad Luck”
9. Carach Angren – “Skull With a Forked Tongue”
10. Starcrawler – “Good Time Girl”
11. GUNSHIP, Tyler Bates – “Berserker (feat. Dave Lombardo)”
12. Greg Puciato, Tyler Bates, Gil Sharone – “Now You’ve Really Done It”
13. Show Me The Body – “Stone Cold Earth”
14. IDLES – “Sodium”
15. Soccer Mommy – “Kissing in the Rain”


Check out the trailer for the “Death Metal Soundtrack” and Mastodon’s “Forged by Neron” below!


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Dark Nights Death Metal (@darknightsdeathmetal)