Hatebreed have finally revealed the title of their upcoming eighth studio album, Weight of The False Self, which is scheduled for a November 27 release via Nuclear Blast records. The record was produced by highly acclaimed producer Zeuss (Rob Zombie, Soulfly) and album artwork was created by Eliran Kantor.

Frontman Jamey Jasta spoke about the lyrics on the record and the mental picture he paints:

“When writing lyrics and riffs, I try to be in the moment, getting a mental picture of my current reality in order to convey what I want to say. Sometimes, I think my reality consists of two irreducible elements, expressed by the age-old interior battle of the dualistic self. The angel on one shoulder stands firm, providing reason, wisdom, and compassion while the devil dances angrily on the other, ranting with passion, spite, and dark desire. I often wonder if a truly centered mind is attainable, an effortless and non-dualistic state of equilibrium. Until then, I’ll just listen to both sides of my personality and hope I make the right choice. At the end of the day, the listener will choose to hear what they want, but when I am writing, I imagine the voice of the angel to be a lil’ louder.”

Guitarist Frank Novinec added:

“Weight of The False Self is a perfect representation of Hatebreed in 2020, a fresh onslaught of soon-to-be classics with all the elements that led you here since day one.”

Drummer Matt Byrne assures fans that this album will have plenty of mosh riffs:

“There’s no shortage of beefy riffs and adrenaline-fueled drums on this record. I’m proud to say that we will consistently provide a soundtrack to which you can mosh in your living room and destroy your apartment.”



Check out the track list below:

  1. “Instinctive (Slaughterlust)”
  2. “Let Them All Rot”
  3. “Set It Right (Start With Yourself)”
  4. “Weight of The False Self”
  5. “Cling to Life”
  6. “A Stroke of Red”
  7. “Dig Your Way Out”
  8. “This I Earned”
  9. “Wings of The Vulture”
  10. “The Herd Will Scatter”
  11. “From Gold to Gray”
  12. “Invoking Dominance”

Pre-order Weight of The False Self here and check out the lyric video for the self-titled track below!


Want more Hatebreed? Check out their previous single “When the Blade Drops” here!