Fortíð unveil “Uppskera” video; new album arriving in October

Posted by on July 23, 2023


Icelandic metal trio Fortíð have dropped a video for their latest single, “Uppskera (Harvest).” The track is the first taste from their upcoming full-length effort, Narkissos, out October 13th. Parallel to the release, a 3CD artwork entitled Völuspá, which features all three albums of the original trilogy, will be released. Each album comes with three bonus tracks and the book includes among other items introductions byEinar “Eldur” Thorberg Guðmundsson and Kári Pálsson as well as all lyrics in original language and English translations.


The band comments:

 “This song opens up with the final verses in Gestaþáttur* from Hávamál”, mastermind Einar Thorberg Guðmundsson explains. “The poem translates something like this: ‘Cattle die, kindred die / You yourself die / But reputation never dies / Of one who has earned it. / Cattle die, kindred die / You yourself die / But I know one thing that never dies / And that’s a dead person’s deeds’. The song continues by journeying into the mind of a man with a ruined reputation from his past deeds. And as the title ‘Uppskera’ (‘Harvest’) suggests, this man is reaping as he sowed, but he blames all his misfortunes on others. His name will not be honoured after he is gone from this world.”


Watch the clip below and pre-save the album here:


Track List:

01) Narkissos

02) Drottnari

03) Vefurinn sem ég spinn

04) Uppskera

05) Þúsund þjáninga smiður

06) Rotinn arfur

07) Illt skal með illu gjalda

08) Tímans ör

09) Við dauðans dyr




Categorised in: New Music, News, Releases, Video