Devin Townsend to release ‘Devolution Series #1 – Acoustically Inclined, Live in Leeds’ in March

Posted by on February 5, 2021


Devin Townsend has been taking advantage of quarantine life/lack of touring by working on new music for his upcoming albums. While everyone misses live shows, Townsend has decided to release a series of live albums, quarantine albums, and extra material to keep his fans entertained before his next masterpiece arrives. The first of his series will be a remixed and remastered version of the Live In Leeds show, which was originally on the Empath ultimate edition  and only available in video format. Devolution Series #1 – Acoustically Inclined Live In Leeds will mark the audio release of the show as well, which is scheduled to arrive on March 19th.


Devin comments:

“So we bring to you the ‘Devolution Series’: a grouping of oddities and interesting material that I would like people to hear, but don’t necessarily want to present as a ‘major release’. The series will include all the quarantine songs and concerts, as well as various live shows from the past few years. The first release is a remixed and remastered version of the ‘Live in Leeds’ show that was originally on the ‘Empath’ Ultimate Edition. It was a cool acoustic show that deserves to be heard I think, so we can use this as an introduction to the series. I’m am currently deep in the writing of my new projects and am very excited to be doing so. Thanks for facilitating my ability to do that, and I hope you enjoy the ‘Devolution Series’.”


Watch “Hyperdrive (Live in Leeds 2019)” video below and pre-order the album here:




Track List:

01) Intro 

02) Let it Roll 

03) Funeral 

04) Deadhead 

05) Ih-Ah! 

06) Love? 

07) Hyperdrive 

08) Terminal

09) Coast 

10) Solar Winds 

11) Thing Beyond Things


Categorised in: News, Releases, Video