Cradle of Filth unveil “Crawling King Chaos” video; announce new album ‘Existence Is Futile’

Posted by on July 30, 2021


Cradle of Filth have finally announced their new album, Existence Is Futile, will be released on October 22nd via Nuclear Blast. The follow-up to 2017’s Cryptoriana – The Seductiveness of Decay was recorded in isolation, at Grindstone Studios in Suffolk with Scott Atkins (Devilment, Benediction, Vader).  To celebrate the announcement for their upcoming thirteenth record, these extreme metal giants have unveiled a music video for the first single “Crawling King Chaos.”


Mastermind Dani Filth comments:

“The album is about existentialism, existential dread and fear of the unknown. The concept wasn’t created by the pandemic. We’d written it long before that began, but the pandemic is the tip of the cotton-bud as far as the way the world is headed, you know? I guess the title, ‘Existence Is Futile,’ does sound a little morbid. But again, it’s more about recognizing that truth and saying that everything is permitted because nothing really matters, which mimics the occultist Aleister Crowley’s maxim. We all know we’re going to die, so we might as well indulge life while we possess it. The final track on the album – ‘Us, Dark, Invincible’ – really drives that point home. Also, the artwork for this record was created by the Latvian visionary Arthur Berzinsh, who also dressed the last two albums, and that reeks of the exceedingly beautiful yet apocalyptic too.”


Watch the clip below and pre-order the album here



Track List:

01) The Fate Of The World On Our Shoulders

02) Existential Terror

03) Necromantic Fantasies

04) Crawling King Chaos

05) Here Comes A Candle… (Infernal Lullaby)

06) Black Smoke Curling From The Lips Of War

07) Discourse Between A Man And His Soul

08) The Dying Of The Embers

09) Ashen Mortality

10) How Many Tears To Nurture A Rose?

11) Suffer Our Dominion

12) Us, Dark, Invincible

13) Sisters Of The Mist (Bonus track)

14) Unleash The Hellion (Bonus track)


Existence Is Futile will be available in the following formats:

CD jewelcase

CD digipak (incl. 2 bonus tracks)

Collector’s edition boxset including digipak, 2LP in gatefold, necklace with band symbol pendant, 5 buttons, flag with album artwork, lyric sheet from Dani Filth (also available as strictly limited NB mailorder edition featuring an alternative cover artwork)

2 LP in gatefold with 2 bonus tracks:

  • Black
  • Picture
  • Glow in the dark
  • Red + yellow marbled (NB mailorder excl.)
  • Purple + black marbled (UK exclusive)
  • Silver + black splatter (US exclusive)
  • Blue transparent (EMP excl.)
  • White + black marbled (Revolver excl.)

– Cassette tape (US exclusive)




Categorised in: News, Releases, Video