Rainbow live album to include band’s first new song since 1996

Posted by on February 15, 2018

Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow is a band that many more people should know about, but the fact that they’ve been broken up longer than they’ve been together might have something to do with that. However, with a lineup that’s included Ronnie James Dio, Graham Bonnet, Deep Purple’s Roger Glover and keyboardist supreme Don Airey, and songs like “Man on the Silver Mountain,” “Stargazer,” “Since You’ve Been Gone” and “Street of Dreams,” they’ve amassed quite the legacy. And the band’s reformation in 2015 found them touring the UK in 2017. Thankfully, the band recorded those shows, and the result, Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow: Memories In Rock II, will be released on CD and DVD on April 6th.

Not only are all the aforementioned songs going to be on there, there are also a handful of Deep Purple songs, like “Smoke on the Water,” “Mistreated,” “Perfect Strangers” and “Child in Time.” And to make things even more special, the special will have “Waiting for a Sign,” the first new music from the band in 22 years. The band’s current singer Ronnie Romero will be on vocals for that one. Also included will be a DVD of exclusive interviews with the band and crew. Will there be more new music? That remains to be seen, but “Waiting for a Sign” will be available as a digital single on March 16th, and the whole package will be out on April 6th via Minstrel Hall Music.

Tags: , , , ,

Categorised in: Releases