Details on second “Down IV” EP revealed

Posted by on February 27, 2014


Looks like when Down hits the road with Black Label Society in April, they’ll be busting out some new material because new details for the Down IV – Part Two EP have been revealed. The second in a series of EP’s, Part Two will be comprised of six tracks, the same amount as The Purple EP. It’s also the band’s first release without guitarist Kirk Windstein and the first with Bobby Landgraf.

Phil Anselmo has commented on how Landgraf has taken to the band:

“He was immediately at home. Bobby had always been that guy in case of anything. Knowing his personality, he really locked in with what we do and took it to heart. He made himself belong. Honestly, the first day he came down he contributed a very strong riff to a key song. There’s that Southern element, which is imperative. I also catch a real old heavy metal vibe from this record. I can’t stress this enough. He took it all on, and he did a fucking awesome job.”

Back when The Purple EP came out, it was originally reported that each EP would focus on a different type of style, but we have a feeling this will still be the sludgy, doomy Down you know and love. Down IV – Part Two will be out May 13 on Down Records. The track listing is below:

1. “Steeple”
2. “We Knew Him Well”
3. “Hogshead/Dogshead”
4. “Conjure”
5. “Sufferer’s Years”
6. “Bacchanalia”


Tags: , , ,

Categorised in: News, Releases