EP premiere: Ghastly Sound stream noisy, hooky, guitarless EP

Posted by on March 9, 2017

Tomorrow (10), Vermont’s Ghastly Sound will release their first music on Magnetic Eye Records. The band’s self-titled EP is a quartet of songs that don’t need guitar to be heavy. Formed by childhood friends TJ Maynard (bass) and Ryan Lewis (drums), vocalist Tyler Gurwicz fills out the trio. The bass is sludgy and distorted enough that guitar is completely beside the point, and Gurwicz’ vocals are sneering and melodic at times. The EP’s last song, “Cuttlefish” is even like a heavy, psychedelic deftones. If you’re a fan of whores., Every Time I Die, KEN Mode or Kylesa, you’ve got a new favorite band. If there’s any complaint about this, it’s that there are only four songs on the EP, and you’ll want to hear more. 

Here’s what bassist TJ Maynard says about the EP 

“We’re so excited to be able to present this release in it’s entirety. These songs have come to mean more to us than we ever would have expected. Play it loud and play it often. The wait for more Ghastly Sound material won’t be long.”

Ghastly Sound’s self-titled EP will be released tomorrow on Magnetic Eye Records. You can preorder it from their Bandcamp page.

Tags: ,

Categorised in: News, Premieres