Metallica opened the newest leg of their world tour in support of 2016’s Hardwired… To Self-Destruct this past Sunday (2nd) in Madison, Wisconsin. Playing for a sold out audience, comedian Jim Breuer opened the show with an hour set of heavy metal jokes, improvisation, crowd interaction, and t-shirt tosses. He even held Metallica quizzes with crowd members wining seat upgrades. One lucky winner, a 17 year old who was seeing Metallica for the first time, was given the opportunity to go back stage and jam with Metallica.

While Metallica’s set was filled with songs from their latest effort, they added a few new aspects to their production for this round including a drum jam, and a few dozens drones flying around while they preformed “Moth Into Flame.” Bassist Rob Trujillo and guitarist Kirk Hammett had a unique spot in the set as they announced that each stop they would be performing a song from a hometown band. For Madison, they preformed a cover Garbage’s classic track “Stupid Girl”. While the tune could have had a couple more run throughs’ in rehearsal, it will be interesting to hear what other tracks they will cover throughout this run.
Metallica will continue their North American tour thru next March. Fans can claim a download of their shows at 

01. Hardwired
02. Atlas, Rise!
03. Seek & Destroy
04. Cyanide
05. Fade To Black
06. Now That We’re Dead
07. Confusion
08. For Whom The Bell Tolls
09. Halo On Fire
10. Last Caress (Misfits cover)
11. Fuel
12. Moth Into Flame
13. Sad But True
14. One
15. Master Of Puppets
16. Spit Out The Bone
17. Nothing Else Matters
18. Enter Sandman


Captured from the front row via Point/Shoot: