As I promised last week, there is a lot of prog coming out today. Bask in the glory of these great new progressive releases, as well as the rest of this week’s excellent new albums!



Cynic, Kindly Bent to Free Us (Season of Mist)


Those that experienced the full fifteen-year gap between Cynic’s debut Focus and the follow-up Traced in Air are probably happy that the prog-metal juggernauts did not keep them waiting another decade and a half for new music. After Traced in Air, Cynic kept the fans satiated with the Re-Traced and Carbon-Based Anatomy EP’s, which led up to this, their third album. Kindly Bent to Free Us features the core members of Cynic – Paul Masvidal, Sean Malone, and Sean Reinert – creating the entire album from the ground up. The trio wrote, recorded, and produced the album all on their own, and all of them are declaring it to be a huge leap forward for the band. Like everyone else, I have very high hopes for this album!


Suicide Silence, Ending is the Beginning: The Mitch Lucker Memorial Show (Century Media)


After Mitch Lucker’s tragic death in a motorcycle accident on November 1st, 2012, Suicide Silence put together a tribute concert that took place on December 21st. The show featured the band performing a full set of both Suicide Silence tracks and covers, with a different vocalist performing each song. This was the first time that the band performed with their new vocalist, Hernan “Eddie” Hermida (ex-All Shall Perish), but there were plenty of other famous singers taking the stage that night – Jonny Davy, Phil Bozeman, Chad Gray, Robb Flynn, Max Cavalera, and Randy Blythe were just a few of the vocalists to join in this special tribute to a unique musician that passed too early. This CD/DVD combo pack commemorates that special night, where the metal community truly came together to honor a fallen comrade.


Adrenaline Mob, Men of Honor (Century Media)


As of last year, Adrenaline Mob is down one founding member. Drummer Mike Portnoy left the band in June, citing what he dubbed as “scheduling conflicts”. However, his replacement is Twisted Sister drummer A.J. Pero, a veteran with more than enough experience to fill Portnoy’s shoes. The other big change for Adrenaline Mob came in the form of a new record deal with Century Media. While there has been no announcement yet regarding live shows, expect to see Adrenaline Mob touring soon to support Men of Honor.


One Machine, The Distortion of Lies and the Overdriven Truth (Scarlet)


One Machine is the newest project of guitarist Steve Smyth, best known for his time in Nevermore, Forbidden, Testament, Dragonlord, and countless other bands. One Machine could be described as a supergroup, since its lineup features a plethora of recognizable talents besides Smyth – vocalist Mikkel Sandager (ex-Mercenary), guitarist Jamie Hunt (ex-Biomechanical), bassist Tomas “Obeast” Koefoed (ex-Mnemic), and drummer Raphael Saini (ex-Chaoswave). To get an idea of their sound, check out the lyric video that was recently released for the title track of this, their debut full-length.


I Killed the Prom Queen, Beloved (Epitaph)


IKTPQ went on hiatus in 2008, due to both their inability to find a permanent vocalist and guitarist Jona Weinhofen joining Bleeding Through. However, the group re-formed in 2011 and began touring again, even though Weinhofen was now part of Bring Me the Horizon and drummer JJ Peters was also part of Deez Nuts. Writing for a new album began in 2012, and despite a few lineup changes occurring in 2013, Beloved is now ready to be unleashed. Two singles from the album, “To the Wolves” and “Thirty One & Sevens”, have already been released, and more are anticipated to follow if the album does well.


Skindred, Kill the Power (Cooking Vinyl)


Welsh reggae-metal fusion artists Skindred are back with their fifth full-length album and first for Cooking Vinyl. Recorded once again with producer James Loughrey, the album was released three weeks ago in the UK, and is now being released in the US. Bassist Dan Pugsley has stated in interviews that the album is about facing down barriers in life and overcoming struggles, rather than being a purely political album like some of their past releases.


Benighted, Carnivore Sublime (Season of Mist)


Unsung heroes of the death metal genre, Benighted is France’s premier brutal death metal band, as well as one of the only brutal death metal groups to originate from the region and gain international recognition. Carnivore Sublime is their seventh full-length album and second for Season of Mist. If you are a fan of Aborted, Misery Index, or Dying Fetus, then Benighted is well worth your attention.


Slough Feg, Digital Resistance (Metal Blade)


Formerly known as “The Lord Weird Slough Feg”, this power-folk metal group originated in Central Pennsylvania, and now resides in San Francisco. The band spent much of their career on underground labels, but they made the jump to Metal Blade in January 2013. Highly recommended for fans of similar fusion artists like Dawnbringer, Atlantean Kodex, and Christian Mistress.


Artificial Brain, Labyrinth Constellation (Profound Lore)


Hailing from Long Island, Artificial Brain is a technical death metal group with heavy black metal influences. Due to their lyrical focuses on space and the cosmos, the group has dubbed their style as “space metal”. Artificial Brain features Dan Gargiulo of Revocation in their lineup, showcasing more of his range as a guitarist.



Next Week: We’ll have to wait and see what the release calendar holds for us, as there is currently nothing scheduled. Maybe some last-minute surprises will show up? Keep an eye out next week and you’ll find out.