Screen Shot 2014-12-24 at 3.31.21 PMIt was a welcome surprise and comeback when Broken Hope released Omen of Disease, their first album since 1999, last year. It was also somewhat of a surprise to see the death metal band reincarnated considering that two of its members, Shaun Glass and Chuck Wepfer, were also in Dirge Within, a much more commercial heavy band, who have since changed their name to The Bloodline. It turns out that’s not the case any more, as Glass and Wepfer have left Broken Hope to concentrate on The Bloodline. Glass offered the following statement to Blabbermouth:

“We have been very focused and busy with our main band The Bloodline so much that we haven’t had any time to be part of Broken Hope for the last 4-5 months as we can’t commit to two bands 100 percent. That said, we aren’t a part of Broken Hope anymore, but we wish them and their new members, Matt Szlachta (Dirge WithinChimiara) and Diego Soria (Disgorge), the best with what they do. And to all the amazing Broken Hope fans, we will see you on the road.”

The Bloodline’s first album (and/or Dirge Within’s third), We Are One, will be released in March on Another Century/Century Media. It’s a little confusing that a former Dirge Within guitarist is not playing in Broken Hope to replace the guitarist that’s now in The Bloodline, which used to be Dirge Within. It’s like Inception, but with two bands.