Chimaira Reveal New Lineup

Posted by on April 15, 2011


Since November of 2010, Chimaira has parted ways with bassist Jim LaMarca, keyboardist/programmer Chris Spicuzza, and (most recently) drummer Andols Herrick. While it was a given that the Cleveland metallers were going to continue on despite the vacant spots, two questions had remained: 1. Is everything ok in the Chimaira camp, and 2. Who were going to replace them in the group?

Well, now we know the answers to both questions. Chimaira’s Mark Hunter, Rob Arnold and Matt DeVries took to UStream last night to address the elephant in the room. In addition to explaining what happened with their former members, the band revealed who would be the new replacements. Joining the band on bass will be Daath guitarist Emil Wrestler, who filled in on bass during the band’s 2010 Winter shows. Wrestler’s fellow Daath band mate/singer  Sean Zatorsky will be taking over as the band’s new keyboardist/sampler. Taking over the role of drummer is Austin D’Amond (Bleed The Sky, The Elite), though drumming for the band’s new album was laid down by producer Ben Schigel. The new album is tentatively slated for an August release via eOne Music in North America.

It’s cool that Chimaira addressed the issue with fans directly. And now with a new lineup intact, we can look forward to hearing new Chimaira music in the new future. You can take a look at video of the stream above.

Here’s the entire current lineup of Chimaira:

Mark Hunter – Vocals
Rob Arnold – Guitar
Matt DeVries – Guitar
Emil Werstler (Daath) – Bass
Sean Zatorsky (Daath) – Keyboards/Samples
Austin D’Amond (Bleed The Sky, The Elite) – Drums


Tags: , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Metal Musical Chairs