New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week features new music from Tom Morello, Beyond Creation, and more, as well as a live one from Evanescence! Be sure to check out the last week’s New & Noteworthy for what all came out last Friday. If you want to see last week’s sales numbers, you can read about those in Metal by Numbers Also be sure to follow us on Spotify to get this month’s New & Noteworthy Playlist, updated every Friday.

New Releases

Tom Morello, The Atlas Underground (Mom + Pop Records)

The Atlas Underground is the newest solo album from the legendary Rage Against the Machine guitarist Tom Morello. He said it was heavily inspired by the EDM world, and sees Morello mixes his unique take on guitar with various producers like Bassnecter, Steve Aoki, and Knife Party. Two of the songs were given music videos, “We Don’t Need You” which featuring Vic Mensa, and “Rabbit’s Revenge”  which has Bassnectar, Big Boi, and Killer Mike. Tom will be playing a handful of shows this week along the west coast of the U.S. in support of the release, but it does not look like there will be a full tour. The Atlas Underground is also available on vinyl.

Seventh Wonder, Tiara (Frontiers)

Now going on eight years since the release of their last album, The Great Escape, Swedish progressive metal group Seventh Wonder returns with Tiara. Tiara is the band’s fifth studio album, but first studio release with drummer Stefan Norgren, who joined the band in 2011. They did release a live album in that time though, Live in Atlanta 2014, filmed in Atlanta at ProgPower USA. They were just announced as one of the headliner of next year’s festival, and it they may possibly have more dates to be announced in North America. They have released a music video for “Tiara’s Song.” Tiara will also be available on vinyl.

Beyond Creation, Algorythm (Season Of Mist)

Algorythm is the third studio album from the Canadian progressive death metal band. In the four years since they released Earthborn Evolution they went through a change of bassists, with Hugo Doyon-Karout (Conflux, Equipoise) replacing Dominic Lapointe. Leading up to the release, they released a music video for “The Inversion,” a full band studio playthrough video for “Entre Suffrage Et Mirage,” and a lyric video for the title track. Beyond Creation just got done touring North America, and are heading over to Europe through November. Algoythm is also available on vinyl, cassette, and Bandcamp.

Evanescence, Synthesis Live (Eagle Vision)

Last year Evanescence returns from haitus with Synthesis, a reworking of some of their best songs to fit an orchestra, and touring with it. They recorded Synthesis Live in front of a sold out crowd at the Grand Theater at Foxwoods Casino in Connecticut.  



Atreyu, In Our Wake (Search & Destroy/Spinefarm)
Basement, Beside Myself (Fueled By Ramen)
Benighted, Dogs Always Bite Harder Than Their Master (Season Of Mist)
Deadbird, III: The Forest Within The Tree (20 Buck Spin)
Gama Bomb, Speed Between The Lines (AFM Records)
Helsott, Slaves And Gods (M-Theory Audio)
Iron Reagan, Dark Days Ahead (Pop Wig Records)
Kadavar, Live in Copenhagen (Nuclear Blast)
Mycelia, Apex (Eclipse Records)
Outer Heaven, Realms Of Eternal Decay (Relapse)
Polyphia, New Levels New Devils (Equal Vision)
Racetraitor, 2042 (Good Fight Music)
Set And Setting, Tabula Rasa (Pelagic Records)
Terrorizer, Caustic Attack (The End Records)
Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats, Wasteland (Rise Above)


Vinyl Releases

Fear Factory, Obsolete (Music On Vinyl)
The Acacia Strain, Continent (Prosthetic)