New & Noteworthy, July 7th, 2017: A Walk With Love and New Music

Posted by on July 7, 2017

New & Noteworthy is a weekly column in which we highlight some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This week features new studio releases from Melvins and Orden Ogan, and a live Blind Guardian album too. If you would like to check out last week’s releases you can do so hereYou can also check out last week’s sales numbers in Metal by Numbers. King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard had the highest debut at #28, and Dying Fetus, Municipal Waste, and Goatwhore all debuted in the top 50. Follow us on Spotify for collections of cool jams, arranged just for you!

Studio Releases

Melvins, A Walk With Love And Death (Ipecac Recordings)         

Thirty years since their debut album, Gluey Porch Treatments, the Washington based rock group Melvins have released their 26th full length studio album, A Walk With Love and Death. The double album comes in two parts, Love and DeathLove is a score to a short film of the same name produced by the band, while Death is a standalone album. Love and Death were both self produced by the band, alongside engineer Toshi Kosai, who worked with the band on their previous release, Basses Loaded. For fun, and more likely album promotional goodness, all three members of the band took part in Amoeba Music’s YouTube series, “What’s In My Bag?” You’ll be able to catch The Melvins on tour throughout the U.S. from now until October with Spotlights. A Walk With Love and Death is also available on vinyl. 

According to drummer Dale Crover, “A Walk With Love and Death is one giant, dark, moody, psychotic head trip” and “not for the faint of heart.” Challenge accepted.

Blind Guardian, Live Beyond The Spheres (Nuclear Blast)            

Live Beyond the Spheres is the third live album from the German power metal band Blind Guardian. It is their first live release since 2003’s Live, and it is comprised of songs recorded during their 2015 European tour in support of their latest release at the time, Beyond the Red Mirror. The release consists of 22 songs, spanning three discs, and the breadth of their thirty year career. In May they released a video for the songs “Mirror Mirror” which was originally released on their hit 1998 release, Nightfall in Middle Earth, and “Prophecies.” Considering they just toured the U.S. last year, it’s no surprise that their only scheduled shows in the near future are European festival dates. Live Beyond the Spheres  will be available on vinyl next week.

Decapitated, Anticult (Nuclear Blast)

Anticult is the seventh full length studio album from Polish death metal group Decapitated. As the title and cover artwork would suggest, a theme of oppositions to cults and religions runs through the album. Leading up to today, the band has released music videos for the two songs, “Never” and “Earth Scar,” and their drummer Michal Lysejko released a playthrough video of the former. It is the first release of the band’s to feature bassist Hubert Więcek, who joined t he group in 2016. The album has recieved generally positive feedback, earning at least an 80% or higher from both Metal Injection and Toilet Ov Hell. The band will be playing a few European festivals this summer, including Bloodstock and Summerbreeze, but they will be coming to North America later in AugustAnticult is available on vinyl.


M.O.D. Busted, Broke & American (Megaforce) 

Of all the bands that first put albums out in the ’80s, it’d be hard to imagine that Billy Milano’s M.O.D. (or Methods of Destruction) would be one of the last bands standing. Essentially continuing what he started with the Scott Ian/Charlie Benante/Dan Lilker band Stormtroopers of Death (S.O.D.) the prior year, this is the proudly politically incorrect crossover thrash band’s eighth album. Read our interview with Milano, then pick this up. Also available on vinyl.


Orden Ogan, Gunmen (AFM)

Speaking of German power metal bands, Orden Ogan is also releasing their sixth studio album today, Gunmen. They have released music videos for the tracks “Gunman” and “Come With Me to the Other Side,” as well as a lyric video for “Fields of Sorrow.” Like all of the band’s releases, this was also produced by the band’s guitarist and lead vocalist, Seeb Levermann. Gunmen also features a guest vocal appearance from former Leaves’ Eyes vocalist Liv Kristine on the track “Come with Me to the Other Side.” They’re currently scheduled to play a few dates throughout Europe, but it’s fairly unlikely we’re going to get a North American tour out of the band for this one.

Apothesary, Accept Loss Forever (M-Theory Audio) 
Bison, You Are Not The Ocean You Are The Patient (Pelagic) 
Also available on vinyl.
Contaminated, Final Man (Blood Harvest)  
Gods Forsaken, In A Pitch Black Grave (Soulseller)   
Grieve/No Gods, Split (Horror Pain Gore Death Productions) 
Heaven In Her Arms, White Halo (Translation Loss) 
Also available on vinyl.   
Heresiarch, Death Ordinance (Dark Descent)
Impure Wilhelmina, Radiation (Season Of Mist) 
Limbonic Art, Spectre Abysm (Candlelight/Spinefarm)  
Also available on vinyl.
Maim, Ornaments Of Severity (Soulseller) 
Also available on vinyl.
Next To None, Phases (EMP Label Group)
River Black, River Black  (Season Of Mist) 
Also available on vinyl.
Skelethal, Of The Depth (Hell’s Headbangers)

Vinyl Releases

Virus, Carheart (Nuclear War Now)
The Norwegian avante-garde rock group Virus are seeing three of their four LPs released on vinyl today.
Virus, The Agent That Shapes The Desert (Nuclear War Now)
Virus, The Black Flux (Nuclear War Now)


Evoken, Embrace The Emptiness (Season Of Mist)
Invocation Spells, The Flame Of Hate (Hell’s Headbangers)
Rotting Christ, Theogonia (Season Of Mist) 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categorised in: Columns, New & Noteworthy