New & Noteworthy is Metal Insider’s weekly column highlighting some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. This first week of May will see the returns of P.O.D., Better Than Ezra and Dååth, the debut of Return To Dust and new works from the likes of Death Lens, Breaking Benjamin’s Keith Wallen and many, many more. Don’t forget to check out our weekly playlist below. Enjoy!

Release Highlights:

P.O.D., Veritas (Mascot): The band’s first LP in nearly six years and 11th overall, frontman Sonny Sandoval said of the album’s creation, “This time, it was a song-by-song basis and I think by the time we got to the end and pretty much had the album done, [we realized] it’s just more straight through kind of rocking and grooving.”

Better Than Ezra, Super Magick (Round Hill): It took the alt-rockers 10 years to release their 10th studio effort. The album sees the band “exploring influences from an eclectic mix of genres, while still including “the distinct collision of elements that have made them so beloved over the years: the eternally sticky melodies, heart-on-sleeve storytelling and wildly clever turns of phrase, potent yet finely composed soundscapes embedded with so much ear candy.”

Dååth, The Deceivers (Metal Blade Records): The progressive metal band returns after a 14-year gap, delivering what guitarist Eyal Levi says is “a scathing critique and exploration of certain societal elements. The deceivers and obstructers in life. Those who impede your progress through subterfuge and manipulation.”

Death Lens, Cold World (Epitaph): The band exchanges garage punk for “matured and brawny post-hardcore tinged rock songs” on their latest full-length album.

Keith Wallen, Infinity Now (Rise): The Breaking Benjamin guitarist/backing vocalist releases his second full-length solo effort, which our own Jillian Drachman said “expertly combines various influences, displaying his strengths as a composer and songwriter.” Read her interview with Wallen here.

Return to Dust, Return to Dust (Jim Kaufman Productions): The up-and-coming grunge-inspired band from Texas release their debut full-length, which Distorted Sound Magazine called a “grungy, punky thrill ride” that “captures exactly what the band is all about.”

May 3, 2024 Releases:

Wheel, Charismatic Leaders (InsideOut Music)
Frank Turner, Undefeated (Xtra Mile)
The Lemon Twigs, A Dream Is All We Know (Captured Tracks)
Camera Obscura, Look to the East, Look to the West (Merge)
American Culture, Hey Brother, It’s Been A While (Convulse Records)
Brume, Marten (Magnetic Eye)
Feuerschwanz, Warriors (Napalm)
Gothminister, Pandemonium II – Battle Of The Underworlds (AFM)
Terminal Nation, Echoes Of The Devil’s Den (20 Buck Spin)
Unearthly Rites, Ecdysis (Prosthetic)
Demande à la Poussière, Kintsugi (My Kingdom Music)
Raised by Owls, Vol.3: (The Satirical Verses) (Independent)
Crawl, Altar of Disgust (Transcending Obscurity Records)
As the Sun Falls, Kaamos (Theogonia Records)
Deliria, Phantasm (Independent)
Severed Angel, Skyward (Independent)
My Silent Wake, Lost in Memories, Lost in Grief (Ardua Music)
Ossilegium, The Gods Below (Personal Records)
Ghost on Mars, Out of Time and Space (Willowtip Records)
Zolle, Rosa (Subsound Records)
Mynded, The Last Sun (Independent)
Horn, Daudswiärk (Northern Silence Productions)
Bismarck, Vourukasha (Dark Essence Records)
Naxen, Descending into a Deeper Darkness (Vendetta Records)
Waves Idle Symmetry, Ametron (Independent)
The Watchers, Nyctophillia (Ripple Music) (available May 24th)
Ben Baruk, Cosmogony (Vision of God Records)
Crohm, King of Nothing (Independent)
Seigmen, Resonans (Indie Recordings)
Urzah, The Scorching Gaze (APF Records)
Juke Cove, Tempest (Independent)
Hässlig, Apex Predator (Independent)
Bad Marilyn, Eye of the Snake (Independent)
Cold July, Goodbye… My Love... (End My Life Records)
Luminous Veil, Oiketerion (Independent)
Gnashing Teeth, Repent (Hauntology Records)
Nyrak, Devourer of All (Phoenix Mortis Productions)
Ancst, Culture of Brutality (Lifeforce Records)
Cyclocosmia, …and We Will Move the Stars (Teratogen)
Kaosphere, In Scars We Trust (XMusic)
Metal Riot, Birth of Terror (Independent)

Order links provided by Amazon and Bandcamp!