New & Noteworthy is Metal Insider’s weekly column highlighting some of the newest rock and metal releases coming out each week. Last week saw new albums from the likes of The Struts, Suffocation, Bad Wolves, Spiritbox, Silent Planet, Yawning Balch, Dying Wish, Green Lung, Carnation and more. This week, we can expect the return of Scream, Helmet, and Tool bassist Justin Chancellor’s MTVoid, a Christmas album from Tarja, and new releases from Calling Hours, Hinayana, Wayside, Foghat and more. Don’t forget to check out our weekly playlist below. Enjoy!


November 10, 2023:


Scream, DC Special (Dischord): The DC hardcore band reunites their original 1983 line-up for their first new music since 2011 and first full-length in three decades. Guests include former member Dave Grohl, as well as DC hardcore peers Ian McKaye (Fugazi, Minor Threat), Joe Lally (Fugazi, Messthetics), Brian Baker (Minor Threat, Bad Religion), Amy Pickering (Fire Party) and Mark Cisneros. 






Calling Hours, Say Less (Revelation): Formed by Farside vocalist Michael “Popeye” Vogelsang along with members of Don’t Sleep, the hardcore band releases their debut full-length.








Hinayana, Shatter and Fall (Napalm): The melodic death metal band returns with their sophomore album, which their label describes as a darker, more solemn effort than their debut.







Tarja, Dark Christmas (earMUSIC): Tarja Turunen brings more dark energy to the holiday season with her third Christmas album. 








Wayside, What Does Your Soul Look Like (Nature Girl): After finding success with their debut album in 2021, the Australian emo/grunge/nu-metal band look to follow it up with their sophomore effort.








Helmet, Left (earMUSIC): The NYC hardcore vets release their ninth studio album and first in nearly seven years. 








MTVoid, Matter’s Knot, Pt. 1 (Lobal Orning): Tool bassist Justin Chancellor and vocalist Peter Mohamed reunite their prog-rock project after a decade for its sophomore album.







Foghat, Sonic Mojo (Independent): The classic rock band releases their first new album in six years.







Shylmagoghnar, Convergence (Napalm)

Left Cross, Upon Desecrated Altars (Profound Lore)

Broadside, Hotel Bleu (SharpTone)

Autarkh, Emergent (Season Of Mist)

D’Virgilio, Morse & Jennings, Sophomore (InsideOut)

Empire Of Disease, Shadows In The Abyss (Xtreem)

Gama Bomb, Bats (Prosthetic)

Horsewhip, Consume And Burn (Iodine)

Hugo’s Voyage, Inception (Frontiers)

Ignescent, Fight In Me (Frontiers)

Locket, Superluminal (Fearless)

L.S. Dunes, Lost Songs: Lines And Shapes (Fantasy)

Night Crowned, Tales (Noble Demon)

Receiver, Whispers Of Lore (Gates Of Hell)

Saver, From Ember And Rust (Pelagic)

Secret Sphere, Blackened Heartbeat (Frontiers)

Temple Balls, Avalanche (Frontiers)

Triumph Of Death, Resurrection Of The Flesh (Noise/BMG)

Vastum, Inward To Gethsemane (20 Buck Spin)

The Young Rochelles, Kicked To The Curb (Sounds Rad)

The Ritual Aura, Heresiarch (The Artisan Era)

Plague Rider, Intensities (Transcending Obscurity Records)

Rigorious, Night of Retribution (Metalapolis Records)

Marsh of Swans, Heartwood (Independent)

Diviner, Avaton (Rock of Angels Records)

Aglo, Build Fear (Independent)

Phantom Winter, Her Cold Materials (This Charming Man Records)

Left Eye Perspective, Conundrum (Argonauta Records)

Odd Crew, Dark Matters Part II (Drakkar Entertainment GmbH)

Burn Ritual, Grave Watcher (Independent)

Lodestar, Polaris (Independent)

Extinkt, Trinity Redux (Ossuary Records)